red velvet whoopie pies

001
There’s no doubt that I come from the Sandra Lee school of cooking as opposed to the Ina Garten school. Since I’ve got that little thing called a day job, I don’t have as much time as I’d like to create things from scratch. Sometimes I want need to take a few shortcuts. So when I made red velvet whoopie pies yesterday, that’s exactly what I did.

If you’re up for making these from scratch, there are some great recipes out there. If you’re up for using a box of cake mix like me, then this is the place for you.

Ingredients for the red velvet whoopie pies:
1 box red velvet cake mix
3 eggs
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup oil
(all of which are listed on the cake mix box)

For the Filling
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 1/3 cups Marshmallow Fluff (marshmallow creme)
3/4 cup powdered sugar
2 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. salt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees
Line cookie sheet with parchment paper
In mixing bowl beat all pie ingredients on medium low speed until well combined
Drop by 2 tablespoonfuls onto cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart
Bake 8-10 minutes, until puffed and toothpick, fork, sharp pointy object inserted in center comes out clean
Cool on rack until completely cool

red velvet whoopie pies

Meanwhile….
In a mixing bowl, add butter, marshmallow fluff, powdered sugar, cream cheese, vanilla, and salt…
Beat until smooth
Put 1/2 of pies, flat side up, on a cool baking sheet
Drop about 1 1/2 tbsp. filling in the center of each
Top with remaining pies, rounded side up and press gently so filling spreads to the edges.

Keep chilled until ready to serve.

red velvet whoopie pies

9 Comments

Filed under kmslat

9 responses to “red velvet whoopie pies

  1. rhooby

    now i didn’t know there is a box mix for red velvet cake! what will they come up with next?

  2. Even those that are SAHM’s cheat…well this one does:D And I have to say those look totally delish!

  3. I really want to try these. I wonder what would happen if you dipped them in chocolate…

  4. oh sure, this is just great. looking at your red velvet whoopie pies has sent me straight to the kitchen looking for dessert. when I break the scales, it’ll be all your fault.
    but in spite of that, these look really nice and we might try out your recipe
    🙂

    • katie o.

      Trust me, I’m already on the verge of breaking my own scales. Maybe I should start a special “eating well” section to this blog. All of these desserts are doing a number on my hind quarters.

      With that being said, you should definitely make these. They’re easy and good. My favorite combination.

  5. Tim

    Do you cook this with olive oil or canola oil?

Leave a comment