Blackberry Pie

014

It’s 100 degrees outside and I should be in a pool somewhere with a cold beverage in my hand.  But because I’m me, I decided it would be a brilliant idea to bake a pie.

So I did.

A blackberry one.

The recipe comes from my mother in law, but I’m not entirely sure if it’s her recipe or her mom’s recipe. Either way, you get the idea. It’s not mine.

Blackberry Pie
printable version here
You’ll need:
1 quart blackberries
1 1/4 cup sugar
2 tbsp corn starch
2 pie crusts (remember, this is me we’re talking about, so ready made pie crusts it is)

To make:
rinse blackberries and pat dry
in a saucepan, combine blackberries and just enough water to prevent sticking.
Bring slowly to a boil. Add 1 cup sugar and continue to heat.
In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup sugar and cornstarch. If mix is too thick, add a small amount of
water from blackberry mix to make the consistency thinner.
Add to the berry mix.
Cook til the berry mixture just begins to thicken. Pour into pie crust. Use second crust to cover the pie.
Pinch edges to seal. Make about 5 slits in the top.

Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes or until top is browned.
Let cool.

blackberries and sugar ♥

pre-cooked blackberry pie

028

Enjoy with a heaping scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.

Oh yeah, it’s definitely summertime.

12 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

12 responses to “Blackberry Pie

  1. It looks Prettty!!! I would bake it just to look at it… Although with my luck it would be ruined… =]

  2. rhooby

    yum!!!! remember to eat some for breakfast!

  3. Rhooby’s right! Pie for breakfast is always the best!!! Yummy!

  4. nom nom nom nom nom. That bowl of blackberries look awesome. Nice light. Nice berries too.

  5. Mmm… Can I come over? We’ll bring our new coffee table griddle. ha ha

    I saw these blueberry cookies once in Bon Appetit… you should make them… because, really, I can’t cook. 😉

    • You can come over whenever you like. And you are most definitely brining that griddle! As for the cookies, hmm, interesting….one weekend I may actually attempt to make them. Maybe.

  6. pure genius! you gave me an excellent idea! although I’ll have to bake the pie crust myself… no ready made in Austria…

  7. YUM yum yum. I am hitting my grandmother up for some blackberrys soon and doing this!

  8. i see someone doesn’t need my help in food styling & photography anymore LoL the pix look great… AND THE PIE!

    • boogie- thank you so much! it’s all because of your blog that i think i’m finally at this point. i think i’ve read everyone of your posts multiple times.

Leave a comment