my go to dinner

This one’s easy I promise. Not to mention it’s really good too. This one is an absolute fallback meal for me because I always have the ingredients handy.

Let’s go!
Here’s what you will need:
016
ps. umm, yeah, please ignore that box of “premium” saltine crackers in the back. my bad. :0

Baby spinach, italian sausage (I typically use turkey sausage, but this time I stuck with regular old mild Italian sausage), can of diced tomatoes, baby spinach, your favorite type of pasta (ziti, penne, rigatoni, farfalle all work perfectly fine), and cheese. Lots and lots of cheese- sometimes I use parmesan and mozerella but tonight I used a good healthy blend of 6 Italian cheeses. Nothing but the best for my calorie intake.

So first, you have to peel the sausage right on out of their casings. (I took a picture of it, but it really just creeped me out so you’ll have to figure it out on your own.)

Next, brown it up.
021

After you’ve started to brown the sausage, start boiling the pasta.

Then add a can of diced tomatoes. (Or if you would prefer, dice up a REAL tomato.)
022

Bring the sausage and tomato mix to a boil.
024
I want to see some steam…
Let the sauce simmer for a while. You want to make sure it thickens up and isn’t too soupy.

Next, throw in the spinach…lots and lots of baby spinach. Just keep in mind that the spinach will wilt down to nothing, so once you feel like you’ve added too much, throw in another handful.
026

Once the sauce has thickened, the spinach has wilted, take a big handful of cheese and throw it in.
027

Add the sausage – tomato mix to a nice heaping bowl of the pasta and you’re done.
030

Told you it was easy.
🙂

6 Comments

Filed under kmslat

6 responses to “my go to dinner

  1. Lindsey

    prettier than heidi montag pratt crying on “I’m a Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here.” lo

  2. jenn (sister)

    “ooooh, i can have some o’ dat?”

  3. rhooby

    oooooo…. that looks sooo good. i’m banking that one!

  4. Emi

    Hey my cooking recipe baby!
    I can’t eat sausage, but what can I add instead of sausage?

  5. kmslat

    hi Emi! You could go with plain old chicken, no meat, or you could go crazy and use tofu. Of course, I have no idea how to prepare tofu, but I bet you do!!

    🙂

Leave a comment