chicken a la king (of anything)

It’s Friday which means you’re most likely NOT going to cook tonight.
Or tomorrow night for that matter. I sure won’t be. Sometimes the kitchen (ahem, I), need the night off.
So how’s about I just help you out with your Sunday night plans?

Sound good?
Great.
chicken a la king

Chicken a la King
Ingredients:
1 tbsp butter
1/2 cup mushrooms
1 tbsp all purpose flour
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/2 -1 cup cooked, chopped chicken (depending on how much chicken you like)
1/4 cup frozen peas, thawed (I’m not a fan so if you are, use more)
salt and pepper to taste

Puff Pastry

Directions:
In a medium skillet, heat butter over medium low heat. Saute mushrooms until tender.
Stir in flour slowly until smooth and blended. Slowly whisk in chicken broth, cooking until slightly thickened.
Finally, add the cream, chicken and peas, stirring slowly to combine.
Reduce heat to low and cook until consistency has thickened.

Meanwhile…
Follow directions for cooking the puff pastries. (They take 20-25 minutes to cook, so be prepared to pop them in the oven early.)

(told you I was loving sara bareilles these days…)

Stumble It!

20 Comments

Filed under kmslat

20 responses to “chicken a la king (of anything)

  1. Chicken a’la king was my favorite childhood comfort food. I always felt so grown up eating it in those little puff pastry shells.

  2. blaynebeacham

    OMG those look so tasty!!

  3. I think I ate that at least once a week growing up! But your version seems fancier than the one I remember – I’m pretty sure my mom just mixed some chopped up chicken and peas with Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup. And served it over toast. 🙂

    • Alyssa- when I was making it, I thought something was a little different from when I ate it as a child. And it was the cream of mushroom soup. How easy and still just as good if you ask me.

  4. Stephanie Higham Coldren

    Your clever ploy worked! Here I am, leaving a comment! Not because I’m actually going to cook this delicious sounding meal. But I’m a whore for seeing my name in print. Love the blog. You’re adorable. Not much else to comment on. :). Oh-except that I’m quite pleased with myself that I knew about Sara before you. xoxox

  5. sayitinasong

    Oh, I’m loving it! A combo of fabulous music and food… that is paradise!

    • sayitinasong- i think this may have to be a new feature here. food/music combo. if you have any great songs you recommend, feel free to send them my way. 🙂

  6. Katie, this looks scrumptious! I love it! And hey, your pictures are fab! what are you using for lighting? I’m green! Green, I tell you!

    • hey lady! thanks! i actually found a spot in my new kitchen that gets amazing light. so that’s where i’m taking every picture i can. nothing fancy here. i wouldn’t know the first thing. 🙂

      • You lucky, lucky girl. I just got back from Panama ad my mom’s kitchen has a skylight right over the kitchen island/stove. Talk about perfect lighting! No such look in my kitchen. I swear I have the darkest condo in all of Houston.

  7. Hi there,

    I write the food blog, Bunkycooks and live in Atlanta. I wanted you to know about the Food Blog Forum Event that is taking place September 10th and 11th in Atlanta.

    Please take a look at the link to the article on my blog as well as the event site link for specific details.

    If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

    I look forward to seeing you there!

    Cheers!

    Gwen Pratesi

    http://www.bunkycooks.com/2010/07/food-blog-forum-is-coming-to-atlanta-yall-come/

    http://foodblogforum-atlanta.eventbrite.com/

  8. That looks so yummy. Like, so yummy.

  9. you have always nice things to post.

  10. Dick Slattery

    Chicken a la King is one of my all time favorites! Didn’t know you knew how to cook it too? Pretty and tasty at the same time, right? Actually your grandmother used to make this all the time, but before the pastry shells were invented. So, instead of the cute pastry puffs she made it in toast which she would put into the muffin pan to form a “puff shape” to drop the ingredients in. Delicious then and now!
    Mom

Leave a comment