Grilled Pork Tenderloin

grilled pork tenderloin

I feel that I must share something…it’s kind of a secret. Just promise me you won’t judge.

I’m not a very good cook. It’s true. My cooking is safe. Boring really. If I could plan a menu without using cookbooks, online cheat recipes, my nightly meals would consist of spaghetti, chicken parm, turkey sandwiches, and probably a frozen pizza.

For this reason alone, I started this blog. Okay, I started it as a joke…because I couldn’t cook. But this blog has forced me to step out of my comfort zone and cook and bake things I normally wouldn’t.

I know what you’re thinking…pork tenderloin is easy. Well, about 6 months ago, I would have been scared to pick up one at the store.   Really.  But now, I’m a little bit braver when it comes to my kitchen skills.  I may not succeed, but I’ll sure as hell try.

Grilled pork tenderloin adapted* from she wears many hats.

1lb pork tenderloin
marinade

*The marinade is adapted as I just kind of threw some ingredients in a bowl together.

If you want to make it easy, pick up a nice marinade from the store (honey teriyaki, etc…) I used a concoction of brown sugar, ground ginger, apple cider vinegar, minced garlic, worcestershire sauce (I was out of soy sauce), honey, salt and pepper.  It was a little on the sweet side, but it was tasty.

See what you’ve got in your pantry and have at it. 

Just remember, you don’t have to be on Top Chef to be a cook.

Be brave.  And always, always enjoy yourself.

*ps. the pictures in the click throughs are well, bad. remember that whole thing i said about not judging?

12 Comments

Filed under kmslat

12 responses to “Grilled Pork Tenderloin

  1. It’s incredibly hard to make brown food look sexy. No apologies necessary. I love me some pork tenderloin–sounds fantastic!

  2. I’m not a cook, either, but I was determined to cook Mr. M a Christmas dinner this year. I made pork tenderloin, and it was delicious. You’re right on about just being brave and going for it!

  3. I read a cute snippet in bon appetit the other night: “more people should be cooks, not chefs.” Good food, simply prepared is nothing to be ashamed of and something to be reveled in. Good for you for experimenting but also knowing your strengths 🙂

  4. rhooby

    mmmm…… love pork tenderloin and that look so yummy! and you ARE a good cook.

  5. Amy

    Yum! Love pork tenderlion! I, too, was afraid to cook one forever cause I wasn’t sure what to do with it. Then I realized – you can grill anything!
    Also, if it’s too hot/cold to grill, if you have a cast iron pan, just sear all the edges on high heat then throw the whole pan in the oven on about 400 for 20 min or so and that works great, too. A little Cavender’s Greek Seasoning is great if you are too impatient to marinate like me.

Leave a Reply

