fried blueberry pie

blueberry fried pie

After last week’s black ‘n blueberry pancakes I was left with a rather copious amount of blueberries.  I hate it when food goes bad so I made a last minute decision to attempt fried blueberry pies.  Unfortunately, every recipe told me I had to make my own pie crust.  Okay, I think I’ve mentioned it before, but I come from the Sandra Lee way of cooking as opposed to the Martha Stewart school. So homemade anything is pretty much always out of the question.

Lucky for me, Pillsbury makes pie crusts. Thoughtful of them, right?

If you’re up for homemade, I’m sure there are 4 zillion sites offering up great recipes for homemade pie crust, but if you’re lazy like me, then this one will suit you just fine.

My creation

Fried Blueberry Pie
printable version here

1 pkg ready made pie crusts

Filling:
2 cups blueberries (fresh)
1/2 cup sugar
3 tbsp flour
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup water

To make:
Mix all filling ingredients in a pan, bringing to a boil. Cook for 2-3 minutes.
Meanwhile, unroll dough, cut into 8 circles. (I used a cappucino (massive) coffee cup or you can use a saucer as a guide.)
Place 1-2 tbsp of filling in center of each pie crust.
Moisten the edges and fold crust over, sealing edges with fingers, then by fork.
Using a heavy skillet, preferably cast iron, heat oil to 350 degrees.
With slotted spoon gently place each pie into the hot oil turning over after a minute. Cook in batches.
Remove each pie with slotted spoon to a paper towel lined plate.

Optional: sprinkle with powdered sugar.
…enjoy.

Stumble It!

19 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

19 responses to “fried blueberry pie

  1. You had me at fried. This reminds me that I need to get a deep fryer. You used a skillet but I’m thinking it’ll be easier to make them in a deep fryer, no? Either way, anything fried is always good!!

    • jun- it reminded me that I need one too. (buying one is on my to-do list.) and yes, no doubt, using a deep fryer would be easier, cleaner, and far safer. 🙂

  2. Those look scrumptious! I actually saw on a rerun of The Neely’s on Food Network (don’t act like you don’t know I’m addicted) they used store bought dough for fried apple pies. Those looked good too but sadly, I don’t care for cooked apples – toss me a blueberry goodness por favor!

    • b- i’m the same way! hate cooked apples. the consistency grosses me out. and yes, you’re as addicted to food network as i am to hgtv. have you seen “selling new york”? i want to live in that show.

  3. These look awesome! I’m always in need for new blueberry ideas since they are so cheap and great for you!

  4. You are The Awesome. 😉

  5. blaynebeacham

    OMG…. My pants are already getting tight, but I have GOT to try these!

  6. Katie, can I be you when I grow up? Pretty please? Because you rule.

  7. I am right with you – life is too short to make your own pie crust!

  8. Amy

    These look nummy! And simple. Great combination!

  9. Rhooby

    Oh you weiners, pie crust is easy to make; it’s just temperamental! Good thing ready made is out there! These look deelish, Katie!

  10. I am going to POST your blueberry fried pie post, because I like hi lighting other bloggers and also I just did a piece on picking BB with my neice. So, FYI I am posting you and due credit to you too.

    Pamela

  11. Pingback: fried blueberry pie | Grocery Tips

Leave a Reply

