White Trash Wednesday: Spaghetti Casserole

Oh lord help me. I had to spend some time searching for white trash recipes, but I have no doubt, the search was totally worth it.

There is a website called godlikeproductions.com that has an entire forum dedicated to white trash recipes.
I have absolutely no earthly idea what being god-like has to do with production or even white trash recipes, but I’m not one to ask questions. So I’m just going to share this amazing find with you. Because the world needs to know about the white trash version of Spaghetti Casserole.

Spaghetti Casserole (not to be confused with this spaghetti casserole)

1 can chef boyardee spaghetti
1/2 lb browned hamburger*, drained
1 can baked beans

Chefboy.jpg image by LatinLegacyNY

beans 1st, then hamburger, spaghetti on top. top with YELLOW (crap cheese*)–
bake at 400 for 20-25 mins.

*Now I hate to point out the obvious, but you know you’ve got a white trash dish when the recipe calls for “hamburger” instead of ground beef or “YELLOW/crap cheese” when I’m assuming they mean American cheese.  Okay, now yes, I know, I’m from Alabama, but not once have I ever heard anyone refer to any form of cheese as crap cheese.  Doesn’t do a whole helluva lot for a recipe now, does it?

But that’s what makes me love this recipe that much more.

17 Comments

Filed under kmslat

17 responses to “White Trash Wednesday: Spaghetti Casserole

  1. Ody

    I think Charlie Trotter’s had this paired with a nice Mad Dog 20/20

  2. Wendi

    Sadly, I’m sure someone, somewhere has memories of eating this. Gadly, it’s not me.

  3. Maybe it was all the beers last night, but I think I just threw up in my mouth a little.

  4. I’ll be honest and I don’t mind saying so….it would totally remind me of my childhood…CBAD…plus, I love baked beans. I’d eat it!!! I love your ideas….

  5. ody- i had to get my cubemate, chicago native friend to explain that to me. now i get it and that’s funny.

    wendi- i second that.

    pp- if it makes you feel any better, it disgusted me too.

    and ld- i can’t take credit for this one. i searched the interwebs high and low before i uncovered this little beauty.

    happy humpday!

  6. If I get a bit drunk on Miller Lite in the next couple of days…I may try to make this. I’ll let you know… 🙂

  7. Amy

    You lost me at the beans. Vile, evil abomination!

    Oh, and we called Yellow/crap cheese “gov’ment cheese” cause, supposedly, it’s what you get when you are on public assistance. The social worker hands you a check and a block of this cheese.

  8. Did you really make this?
    I don’t know about the pairing with Mad Dog 20/20. I think this goes better with a 40 of Old English.

  9. rhooby

    any recipe involving the “chef” has got to be pure white trash. this is so disgusting i can’t even come up with a word….

  10. rhooby

    maybe add some bacon…. or spam.

  11. It’s not the WORST thing I’ve ever heard of, but the “crap cheese” doesn’t make it sound very enticing.

  12. its nice and interesting.

Leave a Reply

