White Trash Wednesday – Cheesy Burritos

This recipe was not intended to go in the White Trash bin.  I’d planned on featuring two 5-ingredients or less recipes.  And in all fairness, this is a 5 ingredient meal.  But after eating it, I felt it only right to tag it as white trash.  After all, one of the key ingredients is “pasteurized process cheese”. 

Translation= Velveeta.

So get your shopping lists ready, because here goes an easy peasy recipe that fills all of your white trashy needs.

Cheesy Burritos

043
 

Ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cooked and shredded
1, 8oz pkg cream cheese, softened
12oz jar salsa, or taco sauce
8 medium sized flour tortillas
1, 8oz pkg Velveeta, cubed

Directions:
Combine chicken, cream cheese, and a cup of salsa/taco sauce. Stir well.
Spoon cheesy chicken mixture down the center of each tortilla. Place seam side down in an ungreased 9×13 baking dish.
Meanwhile, melt the cubed processed cheese over medium heat, in a heavy saucepan, stirring frequently.
Once melted, pour cheese over tortillas, followed by remaining salsa. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
double cheese burritos

While this dish was interesting, to make it a whole lot less white trashy, I’d stick with a nice monterrey jack/colby/cheddar mixture.  But that’s just my opinion.  If you’re a fan of the Velveeta, then stick with the original recipe.  After all, why mess up a good thing?

13 Comments

Filed under kmslat

13 responses to “White Trash Wednesday – Cheesy Burritos

  1. Rhooby

    Did y’all eat this??

  2. Wendi

    Katie, my secret white trash personality loves this.

  3. Uh… I happen to love artificial cheese. Nachos? Bring it. Mac and cheese oozing with veeta? Don’t have to ask me again. But veeta on burritos? It sounds wrong. I’d probably have to have a bite to decide for sure.

  4. Amy

    I would so go to town on that! I was raised on Velveeta. White trash to some is just “mexican nite” to me!

  5. I never liked cheese in my burrito unless it’s just plain bean burrito: refried beans + flour tortilla + cheese! Yum!

  6. HA HA HA. It looks pretty good, but I might switch out the velveta… it makes my stomach turn a little 🙂

  7. I can eat velveeta right out of the box. this looks yum!
    Have I ever mentioned how much I love White Trash Wednesdays. I am not quite sure what that says about me. I swear I am not completly trashy.

  8. I loves me some Velveeta, no doubt a secret ingredient to many fine recipes.

Leave a Reply

