Chicken with goat cheese and basil

I’ve been staring at my Ina Garten cookbook for about a year or so, deathly afraid of attempting any of the recipes inside. See, I’m a wimp in the kitchen. If it requires ingredients like kale or swiss chard, I won’t try it. If it requires kitchen equipment other than a saute pan, I won’t try it.

The only thing is, I’ve been working at getting out of my comfort zone. A person can only eat so much spaghetti for goodness sake. And well, I’ve had this cookbook for so long, I had to find something remotely easy. Right?
So I dusted the book off, and thumbed through it…page after page after page until I found this recipe for chicken with goat cheese and basil.
So I made it.
And it was easy.
chicken with goat cheese and basil
And delicious.

So my Monday morning advice is to step out of your comfort zone.Ā  If you want to make a triple decker cheesecake, do it. Even if you fail, just remember, you’re not alone.

Happy Monday everybody!

Recipe adapted from Ina Garten.

12 Comments

Filed under kmslat

12 responses to “Chicken with goat cheese and basil

  1. rhooby

    i love ina’s recipes. i make them every now and then and they really aren’t difficult at all. and she’s faithful – unlike martha. this recipe looks yummy!

  2. I have heard nothing but good things about Ina’s recipes. Although she always uses so many dishes, like we have a staff of dishwashers! I saw the WT cookbook again yesterday at Lookout Mountain, TN, it must be a southern thing…

    • So far, I love Ina. I’ve watched her show for years…but I totally agree with you that she uses about 10 too many dishes. šŸ™‚

      And I can’t believe you keep seeing that book! I think I’m going to have to cave in and buy it.

  3. She’s the barefoot contessa lady, right? We have about 5 of her cookbooks. My mom keeps buying them for me insisting that they are easy enough, even for me. (Um, thanks Mom). That chicken looks delicious though – I may have to take one off the shelf. šŸ™‚

  4. Dionne Baldwin

    Cooking can feel intimidating when using unfamiliar ingredients or equipment. It looks amazing!!! I love Ina Garten’s recipes and you did such a good job on this. šŸ™‚

  5. I love Ina! I don’t have any of her cookbooks, but I watch her show religiously. Aside from her great food, I love how she’s such a warm, generous hostess. I keep plotting ways to get invited to her house for a meal. But since I’m not a fabulous gay florist or playwright, I probably won’t be there anytime soon.

    I agree that it feels really good to cook out of your comfort zone, if a little scary. This year I’m trying to conquer my cooking fears, just a sampling of which includes: grilling, making my own pasta, and making my own pizza dough.

    I look forward to trying out this recipe…I love chicken, basil, and goat cheese! And by the way, I don’t think you’re missing much by refusing to cook with kale and swiss chard. I’ve tried both and haven’t found them too appetizing, with the exception of kale chips.

    • Roz

      OM gosh, I have done this on the grill, sauteed, and in a toaster oven.I don’t have an oven but this is one of my fav’s.This evening, I pan sauteed it in canola oil.I didn’t have fresh basil so I used dried thyme and dried rosemary from a wreath my Daughter gave to me at Christmas at the time it was fresh.What a lovely gift.

      It was just as good with the dried herbs btw.

  6. Wendi

    Katie, as much as I do love the Contessa, her recipes are hit and miss with me. This one? Total hit.

  7. I burst out laughing when I read: “A person can only eat so much spaghetti for goodness sake.” We’ve been eating a lot of pasta too šŸ™‚ This looks delish! I sure would love to share to Foodista readers this post if you wont mind.Just add your choice of Foodista widget at the end of this blog post and it’s good to go.Thanks!

Leave a Reply

