white bean dip: FAIL

Our neighbors had a cook out last night and as someone who pretends likes to cook, I offered to take a dish over.  How lucky for me that I’d happened across a Martha Stewart recipe for white bean dip earlier in the week.  As I was dying for an excuse to make the stuff, seemed the grill out was a perfect opportunity.

So I made it.

Followed the instructions perfectly. 
2 cans (15.5 ounces each) cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling
1 to 2 tablespoons red-wine vinegar
1/4 cup water
2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh rosemary
Coarse salt and ground pepper

Directions
In a food processor, combine beans, olive oil, vinegar, and water. Process until smooth, adding more water if necessary. Add rosemary and pulse until combined. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to a serving bowl and drizzle with a little oil.

I mean come on, it’s not hard.  Toss some ingredients into a food processor and boom! you’re done.

white bean dip

Yeah, well even after it was “done” it still sucked.  I had to go back in and add garlic and cayenne pepper to jazz it up.  Still didn’t help.  But by then it was too late.  I grabbed the pita chips and headed to the neighbor’s house.  All I can say is that it’s a good thing I had the salty pita chips to help salvage the flavorless dip.

Should’ve known that I should have used Paula Deen’s recipe.

I mean really.  Let’s just say I won’t make that same mistake twice.

20 Comments

Filed under kmslat

20 responses to “white bean dip: FAIL

  1. The recipe sounds bland. I don’t know much about flavors but I am aware (thanks to Paula Deen) that sour cream and cream cheese can make ANYTHING good. Which is usually why I take side dishes with sour cream or cream cheese in them. Good for you? Nah. But oh so tasty.

  2. Amy

    Mirko’s, here in Athens, has a white bean dip that they serve with bread that is really good. It has a hummus flavor, but it’s thinner. There is rosemary in it and I’m sure there is garlic. I would be willing to bet that the only ingredients are the beans, olive oil, garlic, rosemary and salt. Try it without vinegar next time and see if that helps.
    Martha don’t know it all, that’s for sure.

  3. Pingback: Paula dean recipes | IlnerOne

  4. Don’t forget the stick of butter… Paula always starts things off with a stick of butter. I don’t use recipes of people that don’t eat their own food on T.V. Okay, who am I kidding, I don’t use recipes, period. I don’t cook. 😉

    • i loved watching her make a hamburger patty with a half stick of butter.
      my heart cringed right on the spot. as for not cooking, that’s because your husband is clearly a gift from god and does it for you. right? lucky.

  5. Wendi

    Despite the gospel according to Paula (who I really do heart), that cream cheese and sour cream make anything taste good, I had a total fail with one of her dip recipes recently.

    Martha, Paula, you, and me? We all have a bad day every now and again.

  6. Pingback: Where can I find the recipe for the queso dip from Poncheros restaurant? | Free Secret Restaurant Recipes

  7. rhooby

    i tried a martha recipe a few years ago and the same thing happened – hot mess. at least your’s was bean dip. mine was a dessert for 8 peeps coming over. i have since divorced martha’s recipes. she’s just not faithful.

    • what’s funny is that last night i discovered good ole martha has 3 different recipes for white bean dip. huh? yeah, she does. and i apparently used the wrong one. i’ll be looking to paula and the ina garten from now on. i’m with you…my marriage to martha was apparently very short lived.

  8. Happens to me all the time – I read a recipe, think it’s great, try it out and yuk! But then, one out of five or so – yum! Those are the ones that go into the “for further reference” folder.

  9. Ody

    Try this – I make a white bean dip but after rinsing the beans (canned), I boil in some water with a bay leaf and crushed garlic. Then I drain the beans and reserve some liquid, puree in a food processor with some of the liquid, salt & pepper to taste. I always serve with mixed mushrooms that have been sauteed in EVOO w/ thyme and S&P. Those two with pita chips works great.

    • ody- i think you may just be my new hero. this sounds fantastic. next time i get the nerve to attempt white bean dip, i will be using your recipe. 🙂

  10. we use a national panasonic food processor and this seems to be a bang for the buck.””

  11. food processors can really shorten the time it takes for you to prepare home cooked meals ”-

Leave a Reply

