White Trash Wednesday – Tater Tot Treat

Oh lordy, this one’s a doozy. And I have only one person to thank for this recipe….

My husband.

I don’t know if I should be excited or horrified that he learned of this little treat and adapted it with the help of rotel dip.  Guess I’ll have to let you be the judge of that.

Ingredients:
tater tots
bacon slices, cut in half
block of velveeta
rotel tomatoes
toothpicks

Directions:
Wrap strips of bacon around tater tots. Place on a baking sheet and bake at 425 for 15-20 minutes.
Meanwhile, melt your block of velveeta. Add can of rotel tomatoes, stirring constantly.

Once tater tots are golden brown, put a toothpick in them and serve on a paper plate. Dip in rotel cheese.

Disclaimer: I have not tried this yet, but trust me, I plan on it. And I will share the outcome.

Because I have a feeling that this..

+

+

=

20 Comments

Filed under kmslat

20 responses to “White Trash Wednesday – Tater Tot Treat

  1. Wendi

    It’s so wrong that it must be right tasty.

  2. Tes

    It’s delicious, right?

  3. I’ve made cheesy tots before… but never rotel queso bacon goodness tots. I could see this being a good thing.

  4. Amy

    You are going to be the death of me, woman.
    *adds new items to grocery list*

  5. rhooby

    my mouth is watering….

  6. This is a good one.

    Maybe you should do a White Trash Cookbook!! Feature the traditional and then haute version (I think this was a challenge in Top Chef). I see fingerling potatoes instead of tater tots. Braised pork belly instead of bacon…. but on second thought the trashier the better!!

    Happy Wednesday!

  7. Dionne Baldwin

    LOL you may be right. I tried the grilled cheese with chips in the middle and it was really good so this is definately worth a try!

  8. I’m dying to try this – great recipe! Thanks for sharing – its a diet breaker for sure but that’s the case with almost everything delicious!

    jasmandii.wordpress.com

  9. I think I love your husband…

  10. I was at an antique mart yesterday and came across a cookbook titled, “White Trash Cookbook.” Made me think of you and this post.

  11. Oh my goodness — I’ve been trying to convince my friend to go check out The Nook here in Atlanta (by Piedmont Park where that British pub used to be). They have a whole section of the menu devoted to “totchos” – six different types, including “Red Neck,” “Creole” and “Black & Blue.” Fox Brothers BBQ also has a version of this with tater tots, brunswick stew and cheddar. YUM.

    PS – think this book would be a good gift for your husband: http://www.thisiswhyyourefat.com

    • okay, pp, how did i not know you lived in atlanta? and how have i never heard of the nook? and when are we going? totchos? that’s bloody brilliant.

      and yes, i will be buying that book for my husband and secretly, i’ll be reading it.

Leave a Reply

