Top 5 Local Restaurants (Atlanta edition)

Okay, of course it’s the Atlanta edition. I mean I do live here. That makes it local. I’m what Homer Simpson calls “S-M-R-T”….smrt.

There are a ton of food blogs in Atlanta….all of which are far superior to this little blog I have here.  I mean these people are true foodies.  I, on the other hand, am not. Nor do I pretend to be.  I’m simple at best.  If it tastes good, I’ll eat it.  That means it can be a burger joint or a 6 course meal type restaurant.  I have no shame when it comes to admitting some of my favorite restaurants. So in typical yawyeor tradition, I’m going to post my top 5 favorite local restaurants.  (Although I use the word “restaurant” very loosely.)

So today, coming in at #5 on my list is:

*Five Guys!

(photo courtesy of dcist.com)

That’s right kids.  I love it.  I would ingest this greasy goodness daily if my heart and thighs would allow it. 

It’s that good. My husband, the Virginian that he is, introduced this fast food goodness to me a while back. Thanks to the burger gods for bringing Five Guys to Atlanta. 

And just looking at that image has me craving a little cheeseburger and a side of cajun fries.  (Oh yeah, like I’m going to admit that I would totally order a (double) cheeseburger with onions, pickles, mayo, mustard, and ketchup.)

I promise that the remaining 4 “restaurants” won’t all be this low brow.  Okay, maybe they will be.  Who knows?  Guess you’ll just have to check back and find out.

*I realize that Five Guys is a chain along the East Coast, but it’s still in Atlanta and that in and of itself makes it local. So there.

24 Comments

Filed under kmslat

24 responses to “Top 5 Local Restaurants (Atlanta edition)

  1. Dionne Baldwin

    I so want to try it. It sounds perfect and now I am craving a burger in a big way.

  2. rhooby

    we ate 5 guys last night!!!!!!! YUM! i, too, could eat there daily….

  3. We got a Five Guys in Louisville some time last year. And we love it. But we always take it to go – the florescent lights, white tiles and noise just kill a good atmosphere.

  4. Mmm… low brow but you rock a little know how! I loves me some 5 guys. Can’t beat it on an “on” night. But, it wouldn’t hurt for them to add milkshakes to the menu.

  5. Emi

    I agree Katie.
    Five guy is top 5 to me, too. Mark thinks if he owns five guys in east cobb, he can make lots money because no five guys in this area.

  6. I ate 5 guys for the 1st time several months ago. I then proceeded to eat it like 4 times that week. It owns me. I have to force myself to NOT go there every week…. thanks for making me want to go now!

    • melissa, you and phil mickelson apparently have that in common! 🙂
      he ate it 6 times in one week. doesn’t hurt that he owns the franchising rights to it in the state of california, but still…

  7. Exciting!! We just got one of these in our dinky little town here in FL. I’ve been mildly curious when I drive by….but you had me at “cajun fries.”

    I WILL go to there.

    • yes you will becki d. and i want a full recap after you’re finished. because you will love it.
      yes, you will.
      (nice tina fey reference by the way!)

  8. Amy

    Ohmygosh!! They opened a Five Guys right up the street from my office. Those fries are killer! Oh, why did I have to read this before lunch. Now I HAVE to go there!
    Your Homer Simpson quote cracked me up, btw!

    • I’m nice like that. Taunting people with photos of burgers. Hmm, wonder if I should post my #4 choice today?

      And yeah, I love that Homer Simpson. 🙂

  9. Just visited Five Guys for the first time this week. I am not sure if I am happy or terrified that there is one minutes from me.

  10. Ok. I agree that it’s good, but you must be forgetting about the Mugshots here in T-Town. And, you also need to visit Willhagen’s while you’re in town this summer. These two have great burgers and the best onion rings in the WORLD! Sorry to not be totally in favor of your place, but where are the “onion rings”? Huh?????
    Mom

    • umm hello? mcfly? is this thing on? yeah, mom, it’s atlanta restaurants. not tuscaloosa. and if it were, i hate to break it to you, but neither of your suggestions would have made my list. taco caso and dreamland, however, would have.
      but i’ll save that list for another day. maybe for my small town restaurant edition.

  11. Lydia

    Katie,
    Have you tried Farm Burger yet? Don’t get me wrong- I LOVE Five Guys, but it’s no comparison to Farm Burger. They have the best burger I’ve ever had in my entire life, with Five Guys being a distant second. And the beef is all-natural too from local cows. Even the pickles are incredibly fresh and delicious. And don’t even get me started on the garlic parmesan fries. I would commit murder for those…

    • Sadly, I have not. Remember Lyd, I’m in the burbs now and Farm Burger is not. Although, I think you need to invite me to join you one day because I’ve heard (outside of your comment above) that it’s fantastic.
      🙂

  12. Lydia

    Yes, we should go one day soon – I know you will love it! It could be a good lunch after yoga. 🙂

Leave a Reply

