BBQ Pork Tacos

Although it’s officially nueve de mayo, I’m still clinging on to my cinco de mayo dinner.  I may have mentioned recreating my favorite cheese dip on earth just the other day, but what I didn’t mention is that I also (with the help of my lovely sister) made bbq pork tacos.  With a jalapeno coleslaw and homemade bbq sauce.

Let’s just say that I knocked this one out of the park.  But because I’m not clever or creative enough to make any of these from my own noggin, I used a variation of Taqueria Del Sol’s Memphis Pork Taco recipe and my sister’s friend’s pork bbq recipe and adapted them to make what you’re about to read below.
bbq pork tacos
*Disclaimer: this was a day and a half event.  Be prepared with a slow cooker in tow.

Ingredients:
1 (4-5 lb) boston butt

for the rub:
1 tbsp garlic salt
1 tbsp onion salt
1 tbsp ground black pepper
3 tbsp salt

1st bbq sauce:
3/4 cup cider vinegar
2 tbsp packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1/4 tsp ground black pepper

2nd bbq sauce:
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp worcestershire sauce
1/2 cup white vinegar
1/2 cup catsup/ketchup/that red thing in your fridge door
1/4 cup butter
1/4 tsp pepper
1 tsp paprika
1 tbsp ground mustard
1 tsp salt

soft taco shells

Directions:
(stick with me kids. I promise that a) this really is easy and b) the pay off is worth it in the end)
The night before, combine garlic salt, onion salt, pepper and salt in a bowl. Rub pork with spice mixture. Set in refrigerator overnight.

In the morning, go ahead and place the pork in a slow cooker. Combine 1st bbq sauce ingredients: cider vinegar, brown sugar, salt, red pepper, and black pepper. Pour over meat.
Cook on low 10-12 hours.

About 30-45 minutes before you’re ready to hunker down and eat, start working on bbq sauce #2.
Combine butter, sugar, worcestershire sauce, paprika, ground mustard, white vinegar, ketchup, pepper and salt in a saucepan over high heat. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly.

Start pulling pork apart. Add as much or as little as you’d like to the bbq sauce #2 and heat over low for 10-15 minutes making sure pork is thoroughly coated.

When ready to serve, warm tortillas and add pork and more bbq sauce to make taco.

And the conveniently located printable version is here.

ps. happy mother’s day to all the amazing mothers that pass along their incredible cooking and baking skills to kids like me.

9 Comments

Filed under kmslat

9 responses to “BBQ Pork Tacos

  1. Dionne Baldwin

    YUM YUM YUM. That sounds like it would make pork worth eating! 😀 Thank you for sharing. Now I’m hungry.

  2. Nueve de mayo? Nobody told me!

    [grabbing bottle of Tequila]

    Is slow cooker the same as crock pot? If so, I love those, too. Nothing like coming home from work to delicious smells and very little else to do!

    I even have a cookbook devoted to the crock pot, although I admit it hasn’t been used much since I went vegetarian, but it does have a chapter for desserts. Maybe I better break it out today.

    By the way, BBQ pork tacos make me insanely jealous. I’m getting weak…

    • yeap. slow cooker and crockpot are similar. i just need one of them. otherwise i’m keeping my sister’s forever.
      oh wow, crockpotting desserts? sounds fantastic. and i’m with you, throwing something in a crockpot in the morning only to come home to a prepared meal might just be the best thing ever.
      seriously.

  3. rhooby

    sistah, you rock!!!!!! i can’t wait to make this! AND you now have a link for the recipe!!!! WOOHOO*******

  4. Pingback: Does anyone know who makes the Banyan BBQ sauce next to Disneylands Indiana Jones ride?

  5. Pingback: Thai portable stalls for food – BBQ Pork, Chicken and beef s | Portable Gas Burner

  6. Ok, not fair…these pictures made me actually start to salivate. I’m drooling, for God’s sake!

  7. Pingback: Restaurant Row | Tea

  8. Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

