white trash wednesday – Redneck Caviar

red onion

As several of you know, I’m on Twitter (see right hand side of the page). Since I have nothing of importance to say, I’m pretty much scoping out all the cool and hip people to follow. I got lucky one day when I came across this one fabulously creative (and adorable) blogger, Amy from she wears many hats . Let’s just say she has talent and creativity oozing from her fingertips.

Now what does Amy have to do with White Trash Wednesday you ask?
Two words:
Redneck Caviar.

Just the other day she shared her recipe for Blackeye Pea Salad on her site. She added the title Redneck Caviar to the dish and suddenly a WTW recipe was born.

scallions

{This week’s recipe is adapted from Amy over at She Wears Many Hats (which is a far cooler blog than mine…just sayin’)}

Here’s what you’ll need:
1– 15 oz. cans of blackeye peas, drained
1/4 cup red onion, diced
1/4 cup yellow bell pepper
1 tablespoons green onion, chopped
1/8 cup vegetable/canola oil
1/8 cup rice wine or white wine vinegar
1/4 teaspoon brown sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper

*Remember, I cook, prepare, etc…for very few people. Feel free to double everything for a bigger crowd.

bell pepper

To make:
Drain the blackeye peas.
Dice the red onion, green onion, and yellow bell pepper.
Mix together the onion, pepper, and peas in a bowl.
In a separate bowl whisk together the vinegar, oil, brown sugar, salt and pepper.
Pour over the pea/onion/bell pepper combo. Mix well to combine.
Serve immediately or refrigerate until ready to serve.

Amy notes “that it does seem to taste better when it’s been given time to warm up to room temperature instead of straight out of the fridge”.

(To me it tastes better when it’s in my mouth.)

black eye pea salad aka redneck caviar

All I can say is, this is one WTW recipe I will definitely add to my recipe arsenal. So thank you, Amy.

14 Comments

Filed under kmslat

14 responses to “white trash wednesday – Redneck Caviar

  1. You can always depend on me for the latest in redneck cuisine. This is truly one tasty dish. I believe I’m making a batch today as a matter of fact – maybe right now for breakfast.

    • oh honey, i’ve got penty leftover for you. probably shouldn’t have made a batch for myself, huh? it really is some incredibly tasty goodness. thank you for introducing it to me!

  2. “…tastes better in my mouth.”
    You funny girl – already making me laugh out loud before I’ve had coffee.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention white trash wednesday – Redneck Caviar « you are what you eat…or reheat -- Topsy.com

  4. Ooo this IS good stuff! I found a recipe for “Recession Caviar” on Tasty Kitchen (http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen/recipes/appetizers-and-snacks/recession-caviar/) and made it for our big new year’s celebration with my in-laws. It was a huge success!

    Excuse me while I go find some black-eyed peas….

  5. Frank Trice

    What a great dish to bring to a party that does not have any cream cheese in it. My wife and I made this straight out of Lu Lu Buffet’s recipe book ” Crazy Sista Cooking”. Lu Lu is Jimmy Buffet’s sister and she tells some quite humerous stories about each recipe on the facing page. We were half way finished cutting the peppers when we noticed that the particular anecdote for redneck caviar was about one of our friends that lives in our neighborhood, the Oakleigh Garden District. Our friend and neighbor is around 60 now but apparently used to run with quite the crowd back in the day. I highly recommend the book!

  6. The version I make is a little different and called “Texas Cavier”…
    1 can corn (drained)
    1 can black beans (drained)
    1 can black eyed peas (drained)
    1 large tomato diced
    1 large green bell pepper diced
    1 jalapeno pepper de-seeded and minced
    1-2 cloves of garlic minced
    1 medium to large Zesty Italian dressing

    Mix all together and add Italian Dressing. (You can use as much or as little of the dressing you want to get the juiciness you want! You can also add onion and/or green onions to this recipe too. )

    super yummy!

  7. you guys are killing me! I’m so hungry!!! great recipes guys.
    And Frank, i’m buying that cookbook as soon as possible. Thanks for the tip!

  8. Pingback: SUNCAST Workbench Systems | redneck-home-improvement

  9. Frank Trice

    You know what is really funny is that I was unloading my wife’s weekly shopping trip out of the car last night and what do you know, 4 big cans of black eyed peas and some bell peppers. Great Minds think alike. Or Great Rednecks think alike.

  10. Caroline Maloney

    The first recipe is definitely missing some things. The version I am familiar with is served at the Redneck Cafe in Newnan, GA and is a hybrid of both recipes listed above (the second more than the first). I like the oil/rice wine vinegar/ salt / pepper broth better than Italian Dressing. That being said, Southerners would go with what is easy so the Italian Dressing is probably more widely used unless we’re tryin to be fancy.

    • what? There’s an actual cafe called “the redneck cafe”??? oh my that sounds fantastic!
      as for the recipe, i totally stole it from another site. i had never tried it before, but once i did, i loved it. and Italian dressing might be a little more white trash, but you gotta cut me some slack. i’ve gotta eat this stuff after all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

