white trash wednesday – fluffernutter

I’m embarrassed to admit it, but up until the other day, I had no idea what a fluffernutter was. Sad, right? But my friend Elisabeth pointed out that a photo I’d taken of marshmallow creme had her craving a fluffernutter.
001

So today, in honor of White Trash Wednesday, I’ve made (and eaten) one Fluffernutter.
025

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to throw my scale in the dumpster.

You’ll need:
marshmallow creme
peanut butter
white bread

To make:
spread marshmallow creme and peanut butter on white bread.

Eat.

7 Comments

Filed under sweet nothings

7 responses to “white trash wednesday – fluffernutter

  1. I have never heard of this either. But that might be because we didn’t keep marshmallow creme around the house except for the holidays. For, you know, fudge.

    • You know, we never had it around the house either. I’m learning that I was clearly missing something in my formative years. Thinking the marshmallow creme would have filled the void.

  2. Tara

    Oooh we used to have these as kids. Mom and Dad kept this in the house for those sandwhiches, and also to put a “dallop” of that creme in our hot cocoa (long new england winters).

    I haven’t had that stuff in YEARS

  3. Did you like it?!?! If you’d like to move up from white trash to middle class, use nutella instead of peanut butter. Equally delicious and a touch fancier :0)

    • yikes, i did. i felt really guilty eating it. there’s something about eating peanut butter AND marshmallow creme that just makes my lower region really quite unhappy..
      but i gotta tell you, that throwing nutella in the mix has me intrigued.

  4. Frank

    We used marshmallow creme when we makes rice krispy squares instead of melting down actual marshmallows. Delish!

Leave a Reply

