how to gain weight by really trying

Make bacon wrapped chicken with cream cheese.

052

Since I’m only cooking for two, everything is based on just 2 boring servings.

Here’s what you’ll need to make this dish:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/3 pkg cream cheese, softened (in my attempt to save calories, ha!, I used Neufchatel)
1 1/2 tsp butter, melted
1 tbsp bread crumbs
2 tsps chives (again, I never have fresh anything around…just used dried chives)
pepper to taste
4 slices Bacon

To make:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Pound chicken to 1/2 inch thickness. (Use wax paper Makes the clean up and pounding less messy.).
Spread softened cream cheese on the top of chicken.
Mix the butter and the bread crumbs together. Spread over top of chicken.
Sprinkle with chives.
Roll up to chicken breasts to make sure the cream cheese goodness is safely tucked away inside.
Sprinkle with pepper.
Finish by wrapping each chicken breast with two slices of bacon.
Place the rolls seam side down in a casserole dish.

Bake for 35 minutes.
Pour off bacon grease.
Then, preheat the broiler and broil the chicken for 3 minutes on each side to get the bacon all kinds of crispy.

Let sit for a few minutes before serving.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go jog in place for the next 2 hours.

5 Comments

Filed under kmslat

5 responses to “how to gain weight by really trying

  1. I’m making that sound that Homer makes when he really wants a donut. Thank you.

  2. Sister from a different mother? Even as we speak I have chicken breast I was planning to roll with bacon. I’m trying to put together a cheap menu for Valentine’s dinners. Go figure!

  3. gitanorumano

    I just saw the doctor yesterday. I am up to 159. As soon as I get this moving thing done. (I get the keys tomorrow). I need to start on losing some of the excess baggage. A pound a week is not a good thing. Of course my excuse has been the miserable weather we have been having here in Miami for the last month. If all else fails blame the weather. My challenge for tomorrow is after I get the keys is to cart all of the clothes down the street to the new place.

    • katie o.

      oh come on. miserable weather in miami? i think you guys hit about 55 degrees. i’ll trade. this past weekend in atlanta it was upper 50s. today it’s currently 32. and possible snow tomorrow night. what?
      and i’m with you, i’ll always use any good excuse to get out of working out.
      good luck with your move!

  4. gitanorumano

    Actually surprisingly this year it did get into the ’30’s down here. It isn’t common but every so often we do get blasted. Bill

Leave a Reply

