Pecan Pie

Although I didn’t contribute a ton to this year’s Thanksgiving feast, I did however, contribute more than I have in past years. Truth be told, my sister is the cook/baker of the two of us, so she always takes the reigns when it comes to holiday cooking. I gladly step aside and enjoy a couple a glass of wine and some really bad holiday programming.

This year though, I decided that it was time to step it up. If I am going to blog about food, I should at least pretend that I can make something. So, I went with pecan pie. I mean, I drool over the stuff daily. Probably about time I learn how to make the stuff.

That’s exactly what I did.
And man was it good.

If you’re up for making an easy pie and you’ve recovered from your holiday food coma, make this pie now.
Or you can wait a little. But I wouldn’t. I’d make it now.

the makings of pecan pie

pecan pie

pecan pie

the pecan pie

pecan pie

150

Recipe:
1 c. Karo syrup (1/2 cup dark, 1/2 cup light syrup)
1 c. sugar
1/3 c. melted butter
1 c. broken pecans (that’s a technical term by the way)
3 whole eggs
Dash of vanilla
Pinch of salt
1 deep dish pie shell

Mix ingredients well. Pour into an unbaked 9 inch pastry pie shell. Bake at 350 for 45 – 50 minutes or until pie begins to crack slightly on top.

Yes, it really is that easy.

7 Comments

Filed under kmslat

7 responses to “Pecan Pie

  1. Or just go to your neighbor’s house bearing gifts and leave with a 1/4 of pecan pie. This does look super yummy. Pecan pie for breakfast??

  2. Pingback: Pecan Pie « you are what you eat…or reheat Simple Pie

  3. rhooby

    ya know, you’re killing me here….

    • katie o.

      I’m so sad, it’s all gone!!! Would it be wrong to make a pecan pie for no reason?
      Yeah, I’m gonna weigh 450 lbs before the end of the year.

  4. Daisy

    Wow! How can it be easy and so perfect?

Leave a Reply

