cooking with pork

This time, I’m switching it up a bit. The weekly dinner menu has started to take a turn for the boring lately so I turned to my favorite little Food Network star, Giada de Laurentiis, for inspiration.

But as I’ve mentioned before, I tend to take the lazy man’s approach. So this recipe comes from Giada, but is dumbed down by me.

Also, I cook for two so if you want to, just double everything.

You’ll need:
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1 large egg, beaten
3/4 cup, Italian bread crumbs
1/3 cup parmesan cheese, grated
2 pork loin chops
salt, ground pepper
1 tbsp butter
1/3 cup vegetable oil

To make:
Place the flour in a bowl. Place the eggs in another bowl. Mix the bread crumbs and Parmesan in a third bowl.

Using a mallet, pound the hell out of the pork chops. (I didn’t work today, so I had less aggression.) Pound them down until they are 1/4 inch thick. (I tend to place the pork chops between two pieces of wax paper, but plastic wrap works well too.)
020

Sprinkle the chops with salt and pepper.

Dredge the chops in flour, coating lightly. Next dip them in the egg, allowing the excess to drip off. And finally, coat the chops in the bread crumb mix, pressing gently to make sure it sticks.

In a large saute pan, melt the butter in the oil over medium high heat until hot. Add the pork chops to the oil mixture and cook until the chops are a light golden brown, about 3 minutes per side.

025

027

033

And that’s it.
Enjoy kids!

5 Comments

Filed under kmslat

5 responses to “cooking with pork

  1. rhooby

    it’s 8:00 in the a.m. how can i be hungry for pork chops???

  2. These look so good. Pork is my favorite food.

  3. theteachercooks

    Just found your blog. I love it and congratulations! Will be visiting.

Leave a Reply

