oakland cemetery part 492

Today was the first pretty day we’ve had in a very, very long time so I finally got out of the house…grabbed my camera and hit the road.

But I have to admit, the first place I wanted to go was Oakland Cemetery. I don’t know if that’s bizarre or not, but I absolutely love that place.

Today I took 160 pictures.
160.
Of statues.
Of flowers.
Of tombstones.

And even after 160 photos, I still want to go back. There is so much to see.
So much history.
So much beauty.
And yes, it’s a cemetery.

101

191

193

169

164

115

250

244

228

And not sure if you’ve noticed, but I love my camera and my new 50mm lens. I think I’m in heaven…umm, no pun intended.

7 Comments

Filed under kmslat

7 responses to “oakland cemetery part 492

  1. This is one thing I haven’t done. I tried to convince Mrs. Rev to go to Cave Hill with me – she didn’t bite.
    I absolutely love the flowers; they look like they were painted on the stems. I heart floral bokeh.

  2. Cemetery creeps me out. Good thing you did it in broad daylight. 🙂

  3. katie

    Shutterboo- Definitely make her go. The subjects are endless especially if it’s a really well preserved cemetery. And thanks! I will say I finally feel like I’m progressing with my new lens. We don’t hate each other as much as we did. 🙂

    Walter- no doubt. Although this cemetery has a major Halloween event where people dress up as the famous people who are buried there. And it’s at night. I would totally go, but would be alone in my venture.
    🙂

  4. Lydia

    Aww, you should’ve called me and I would’ve walked over there to meet you!

  5. rhooby

    you know i’m dying to go there.like the pun? how about sunday? and next time we go to charleston, we’re hitting the cemeteries…. love, love, love them!

  6. katie

    Rhooby- it’s a date. And we can go to Six Feet Under afterwards.
    Lydia, I’m so dumb! I don’t know why I didn’t even think to call you. Probably because you have a life. 🙂

  7. Dick Slattery

    Wish I could have gone with you to the cemetery. We had a wonderful time when we went, didn’t we? And Six Feet Under is just what I need!

    This cemetery outing reminds me of the Día de los Muertos that my 7th and 8th graders presented last Friday. In one class they honored Roberto Clemente and in the other, Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz. She was an illegitimate daughter of a Spanish nobleman who became one of the most famous nuns ever. She also was a feminist who wrote poetry, made great mole, and conferred with the most brilliant men of her time. All of this makes me want to go to Mexico City and visit the cemetery on the night of Día de los Muertos. Just imagine a candlelight vigil and family members everywhere. What a neat celebration of life! Also, one of your readers mentioned the Halloween thing at Oakland. I’ll have to do that one next year! Think we can get an invitation??????
    Mom

Leave a Reply

