my new 50mm

50mm lens

 

Today my new 50mm f/1.8 lens arrived. I haven’t been this excited since my dSLR showed up.  The only thing is, I have no idea how to use it.  My internet friend Shutterboo warned me that it might take some time for everything to click. 

Okay, based on my photography learning track record, it could take me 2 years before I completely comprehend how to use this new lens.  A little back story…I took a photography class many, many moons ago.  In a nutshell, when it came time to learn aperture I was suddenly transported back to 10th grade Geometry class, which I hated, because I was too stupid to grasp it.

But after reading up a little more on aperture, not Geometry, it only took me 5 years to grasp the subject. 

That’s because in the words of Homer Simpson, I am S-M-R-T.

Smart.

So this little learning experience should be fun.
And by fun I mean insanely painful.
Godspeed friends.
Godspeed.

6 Comments

Filed under kmslat

6 responses to “my new 50mm

  1. Exciting stuff! Slap that baby on there and get started!

  2. I put the 50mm on my Christmas list. I may be in the same boat come December 25th. 🙂 Good luck and let us know how it goes!

  3. katie

    Thanks guys! I started taking some photos last night, but shutterboo, I had the same problem of trying to get too close. So irritating.
    Hopefully the rain will stay at bay this weekend and I can get outside and take pictures of things other than my sweet doggies. 🙂

    • Just do what Fat Joe tells you to do:
      Now lean back, lean back, lean back, lean back.
      haha – I’m a odd kind of mood today – Mrs. Rev is going to have her hands full tonight. 🙂

  4. katie

    Love it. And that may be the first Fat Joe reference this blog has ever or will ever see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

