Chili con carne

022

In the last week, the temperature has gone from 85 degrees to 55 degrees. Don’t get me wrong, I’m certainly not complaining. Actually, I like the cooler weather as A) humidity is not my friend and B) sweating is disgusting. So when I can actually sport a pair of jeans and a jacket, I’m a relatively happy girl. Relatively speaking of course.

So with the weather cooler I have to make chili immediately. It’s just what I do.

This recipe is adapted from the husband’s childhood friend’s recipe, which I’ll actually make probably for Superbowl Sunday, but for now, let’s just use this easier, non-all day version.

Here’s what you’ll need:
Olive oil
-one medium onion
-Garlic 2-3 cloves
-Beef (for stew…cubed)
-Spices: chili powder, cumin, paprika, oregano, creole seasoning, salt and fresh ground pepper, (optional: red pepper flakes)
-Beef broth one can
-Chopped, peeled tomatoes (l large can, ~20 oz.) (coarsely chopped)
-1-2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
-Black beans, kidney beans, red beans (2-3 cans, any mixture)

Grab an onion and about 2-3 cloves of garlic and start dicing away.
Meanwhile, heat up some olive oil in a dutch oven / large stock pot over low-medium heat.
Toss the onions in and saute until soft. Throw in a dash of salt for good measure.
Add the chopped garlic, saute for 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently.
Add the meat and cook until brown on all sides.
Next add your spices, salt and pepper..I tend to eyeball it here. If you like it spicier, throw in more chili powder and red pepper flakes. I like to add tabasco, but shhh, don’t tell my husband. He thinks Tabasco is wrong and cheap and beneath him. Oh well, too bad. Cook for another minute or two.
Now add a small can of the beef broth and let it all simmer for about 45 minutes to an hour.

Add the can of tomatoes, black beans and all those kidney beans and 1-2 tbsp balsamic vinegar. Let it simmer for another 45 minutes over low heat. You want all the juices to soak in.

And that’s it!

To make it even better add the finishing touches…
tortilla chips, sour cream, jalapenos, and loads of cheddar jack cheese.

021

024

And you’ve just made yourself dinner for a cold October night.
Enjoy!

20 Comments

Filed under kmslat

20 responses to “Chili con carne

  1. rhooby

    yum, that looks sooooo good. and you’re right – it’s so perfect on a chilly evening!

  2. These pictures make me hungry at 11 in the morning! How did you get your pictures to come out like that? What kind of camera do you use?

  3. katie

    I use a Canon Rebel XSI and I love it! It’s my newest toy. It’s a great dSLR for beginners like me. πŸ™‚ As for the shot, I like to get right up on the subject and set up the exposure for a short depth of field. To be honest, I’m learning as I go and taking a million pictures along the way.
    Thanks for stopping by!

  4. SallyK

    Pretty close to our standard family recipe but.. we never added balsamic vinegar. Will definitely have to try that, sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing … North Coast Muse @ http://sally1029.wordpress.com

    • Moontraxx

      We were actually just talking about having chilli con carne at our next house concert. This is a nice receipe! I definitely agree with the balsamic for a sweet and slightly tangy flavour. For additional sweetness I also like adding a tin of baked beans.

  5. I told you that sour cream looked so yummy I wanted to lick the screen. πŸ™‚

  6. Joe

    I absolutely love chili con carne… if I had some mince in the fridge, I’d make some now. But I don’t, so I won’t. *Sigh*

  7. Looks good. I will have to try this. I usually get demands this time of year for chile from my husband and I have wanted to try something new. I normally use hamburger in mine as well as New Mexico green cliles.
    Thanks

    • katie

      I’m a fan of the ground beef as well, but for some reason this recipe explicitly calls for the “beef for stew”. Definitely gives it a different texture, but it’s oh so good.

  8. Pretty Project

    What kind of tortilla chips are those? They look yummy! πŸ™‚

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  9. is that the jalapenos on top then? They look so tasty!

  10. I’m with your Shutterboo. Those photos look so good I wanted to jump through the screen and eat this myself. I guess I could, god forbid, actually make it myself. LOL.

  11. had some Chile this weekend, perfect time of year

  12. Omg if I had any of that in my possession right now. I would have to make it and eat it and NOT SHARE. It looks soooooo good! I hope I can find this recipe again.

  13. maverick

    This looks so great… Need to try it

  14. psychologist1

    well, as for the first part of the blog (i mean cold weather) i also like cold weather BUT… if i do not need to go anywhere out of my house. lol!

    thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe and pics! lokks very delicious!

  15. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Chili con carne Β« you are what you eat…or reheat [youarewhatyoueatorreheat.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

