*Update* Atlanta Flood ’09

cher2green_1
My husband received photos this morning from the golf course, where he plays just north of Atlanta. My photos from yesterday don’t quite do the flooding justice. These on other hand are pretty intense.
I’m afraid that even though the rains have tapered off at least for today, the worst is yet to come.

cher3-tee_1

cher-2-7-bridge_1

********************************************

No really, that’s what they are calling it and I can’t say as I blame them. It has rained something like 20 inches since Friday.
OH MY GOD!
The worst part is that the weather people are calling for rain through Friday. Seriously, is it ever going to stop?

I decided on my way back to work from my lunch break that I would try to snap some photos of one of the creeks I pass over. It’s called Peachtree Creek and to say it’s in a nice neighborhood would be an understatement. All I know is that I wouldn’t live anywhere remotely near this thing no matter how nice the house is.

A. it floods incredibly easily
and
B. it stinks. (No really, it smells like sewage.)

Here are a few shots from my car ride…don’t judge me. I snapped while the car was stopped. I promise.

The first shot was of Bobby Jones golf course engulfed…
peachtree creek

Yeap, that’s one of the holes hiding under all that water…
bobby jones golf course

And this is the bridge that apparently as of about 5pm today was officially covered with water. Sewage smelling water.
peachtree creek

Hmm, wonder how I’ll get to work tomorrow…

6 Comments

Filed under kmslat

6 responses to “*Update* Atlanta Flood ’09

  1. shutterboo

    Geezopete! Be careful. We had a TON of rain in mid-August and it flooded downtown and all low lying areas. Don’t drive into any streets that are holding water – they tend to be deeper than they appear.

  2. Liz

    Wow. I just stumbled onto these pics. We’ve had a record amount of rain in Arkansas, but our flooding hasnt been anything like this. Hope you called into work!

  3. katie

    Liz, thanks for stopping by!

    Unfortunately, I can still get to work. Sad, right?

    Ps. I love, love, love your blog!

  4. rhooby

    yikes!!!!!!!!! those pics are very scary!!! i hope it stops soon.

  5. Dick Slattery

    Unbelievable photos. It’s hard for me to imagine that it’s been that bad. We were just there two weekends ago! Oh how life changes! We’re in for more rain today. Hope you’re rain free!!!!!
    Mom

  6. Hello!

    I have a request and I’m hoping you can help. I work for a mold remediation, water mitigation company and we are having a benefit where all of the proceeds are going to United Way’s 2009 Atlanta Flood Victims Relief Fund. We are trying to find photos for one time use as a backdrop at the event. I wanted to talk to you about the photos you have and see if you’d be willing to allow us the use of these photos for this purpose? We would greatly appreciate your help.

    Most Sincerely,

    Stephanie
    scook@remgroupinc.com

Leave a Reply

