cheddar bay biscuits….or something that slightly resembles them.

017
My sweet friend Elaine, who I’ve mentioned a few times already, was incredibly thoughtful and got me a subscription to Food Network magazine. After drooling over the recipes featured in it for several months it finally dawned on me that I should test out a few of them.

So yesterday, I took to the kitchen and attempted to make the Food Network magazine’s version of Red Lobster’s Cheddar Bay Biscuits. Now because I have a 94 year old grandfather, I’ve eaten there on several occasions. (He loves the place…always has and always will. Which reminds me…did I ever tell you about the time my 94 year old grandfather got carded at a Red Lobster in Tuscaloosa, Alabama? No, really. It happened. Trust me. I was there.)

Anyway, yes, the cheddar bay biscuits are pretty much to die for. My friend Christy had them at her wedding. I drool everytime I think of them. So making them just seemed like the obvious thing to do. (I use the word drool a lot..)

For the first time since I got married, I dusted off my word food processor (WHAT?) and went to town. I felt like I was a real cook. I mean I was making biscuits from scratch afer all. I never make things from scratch because isn’t that why God invented companies like Betty Crocker? So I don’t have to?

I got out all my ingredients:
cooking spray
1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1 tbsp plus 2 teaspoons baking power
2 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1/4 tsp salt
3 tbsp cold unsalted butter cut into 1/2 in pieces
1 1/4 cups grated yellow cheddar cheese
3/4 cup whole milk

Then I followed the directions:
1.Position rack on upper 3rd of the oven. Preheat to 425. And instead of using a baking sheet, I opted to use muffin tins. And I greased them up really nice.
2. Pulse the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt in a food processor. Add the shortening and pulse until combined.
Add the cut up pieces of butter..pulse 4-5 times or until the butter is pea sized. Add the cheese and again, pulse 2-3 times. Pour in themilk and you guessed it…pulse unil the mixture is moistened and turns into a “shaggy” dough. Place the dough mixture onto a work surface and gently knead until the dough comes together. Don’t over-knead the dough or the biscuits will be tough.
3. Drop the dough onto a greased baking sheet or muffin tin and bake 15-20 minutes.

And finally- the garlic butter!
Melt 3 tbsp unsalted butter
1 clove garlic smashed
1 tsp fresh parsely
for one minute over medium heat.
Brush the biscuits and serve warm.

Sounds good, right?

I thought so too. Well, yes, they were fine as far as cheddar biscuits are concerned, but let’s just say Red Lobster would win the biscuit fight anyday. I appreciate Food Network trying to recreate the infamous Cheddar Bay Biscuit recipe, but this one just falls short.

In closing, I would do the following:
Use regular butter, add even more cheddar cheese, and throw in 1/4 tsp garlic powder for good measure.

Or…
go to the store and buy the Bisquick version and make the whole process a lot simpler.

Signed,
Nevermakinganythingfromscratchagain.

2 Comments

Filed under kmslat

2 responses to “cheddar bay biscuits….or something that slightly resembles them.

  1. rhooby

    don’t say that!! don’t say you won’t make anything from scratch. these may not have turned out the way you wanted, but you’re a great cook/baker and you’ll have bum recipes and great recipes. keep baking!

  2. katie

    okay, i take it back…that is until the next time I attempt to bake something.

Leave a Reply

