Carriage Row Tea Cakes

This recipe comes straight from a great little recipe book called “A Taste of Charleston South Carolina Restaurant Recipes”…
and it’s amazing.

I was bored today so I decided to make tea cakes. As I’ve only ever tried tea cakes once before (thanks Elaine!), I wasn’t exactly sure what they were supposed to taste like. All I remembered was that they weren’t as sweet as regular sugar cookies.

I forged on.

And although they were a little plain (but I still love them), I decided to add frosting to them. Probably not very kosher and I’m sure there’s some blue blood out there cursing me for doing such a thing, but they sure do taste great now.

So, to make:
4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/4 cups sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
3/4 cup butter

Preheat oven to 325.
First cream the butter and sugar. Then add all other ingredients. Continue to cream. Roll into a ball about the size of a small egg.
Put the ball of dough on a greased cookie sheet and pat it down to baout one inch in thickness.

Bake at 325 for 15-20 minutes.
016
And if you haven’t noticed, I love sprinkles.
I may actually be obsessed with them.

4 Comments

Filed under kmslat

4 responses to “Carriage Row Tea Cakes

  1. rhooby

    oh dear. those look so yummy and i would love a treat right now….

  2. katie

    i must admit, they were a little gritty, but once you slap some frosting on them, they taste pretty darn good. next time i think i’ll use almond extract instead of the vanilla….ummm…

  3. Frosting makes everything better. Sprinkles make everything, well, awesome.

Leave a Reply

