*Update* i need a vacation

**I realize that Hurricane Bill is about to crash right into Bermuda, but why does the Today Show taunt me? According to them, Bill and Hillary Clinton are vacationing there right now. Oh and they just did a live report from Elbow Beach, the most gorgeous beach in all of Bermuda.
Meanies.**

I just discovered that I still have 2 weeks of vacation days and 5 sick days left to take this year.
Umm…. hello?? It’s mid August. Why have I waited so long to take my days?
Right now my brain is fried, my skin is pasty, and my wrinkles are multiplying as we speak. My job is killing me.
I need a vacation.

But, because things are so hectic I feel guilty taking a day off to do nothing. It’s not like my co-workers have time to do my job too. I don’t feel that it’s fair to leave them my work when I can be there to do it myself. Then I think, they take vacation days. EVERYONE takes vacation days, right? That’s why they are there. To take them. So why am I such an idiot?

And while I’d kill to go somewhere like here:
CIMG0415
The odds of a trip to Bermuda aren’t remotely in my future…

So I need your help coming up with a vacation idea. It can’t cost much because I’d rather spend money on something else like a new camera or a house, I mean whatever…
I would love to hear your ideas.

Because if you could see me now, you’d send me on a vacation stat.

6 Comments

Filed under kmslat

6 responses to “*Update* i need a vacation

  1. Lydia

    i think destin is the best place to go when you need a getaway from atlanta. i go at least once every summer and always wish that i could stay longer! it’s the closest beach that has soft white sand and nice places to stay that are very affordable.

    if you’re only going for a couple nights, the hilton at sandestin is awesome. if you’re staying for like a week, you can get a good deal on renting a 2 or 3 bedroom condo. and if you go in a few weeks, like say, after labor day, i’m sure the rates drop.

    you should go for it- everyone deserves to take a vacation! and i know destin isn’t exactly bermuda, but it’s the closest thing you’ll find from atlanta.

  2. rhooby

    you can always come to the old garth hilton….

  3. katie

    rhoob- i may just take you up on that offer. 😉

  4. Mary T.

    Do you want a sunny/beachy vacation? then my choice is also destin. But if you have marriott points or don’t mind spending a little for a hotel go to the Grand Hotel in Point Clear- it’s amazing and a quaint little town or come to the Ross Bridge Resort here in Bham- it’s got an amazing spa and pool- you’d love it (not in the heart of bham at all, kind of way out) Or even to someone’s lakehouse where it is so quiet you can read 10 books!

  5. katie

    i am loving all of these vacation ideas! i think i’ll be flipping a coin to decide this weekend.
    🙂

  6. Lindsey

    You can fly to Ft. Lauderdale/Miami for $129 roundtrip on Spirit. Go to Priceline or Hotwire and get yourself a 4-star hotel for $80 bucks a night and you are all set. I know you are going to laugh, but Wilmington is great. There are beaches, good restaurants, cute little shops, and Chad McMichael McMurray. It isn’t a bad drive, either. Also, check out Delta’s last minute deals they have each week. You can’t go wrong flying anywhere for $150 roundtrip.

Leave a Reply

