heavenly

That’s the only word I can think of to describe the dessert I made last night. Heavenly. Because it is.
I forgot I had this cookie recipe book courtesy of Southern Living. I picked it up the other night and went straight to the super easy section. Okay, so it was actually called “Simple Cookies”, but you get the idea. (It’s also easy because I rarely make anything from scratch.)

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 package chewy fudge brownie mix (I used Duncan Hines)
3 tbsp vegetable oil
1 cup sweetened condensed milk
14 mini Mounds bars (You know the ones…)020
3/4 cup chopped natural almonds, toasted (optional)

To make:
Follow brownie instructions according to directions, except reduce the veggie oil to 3 tbsp.
017
Pour into a lightly greased 13 x 9 inch pan.

Pour the sweetened condensed milk over the batter; then top with the chopped Mounds bars and almonds.

Bake at 350 for 36-38 minutes. Cool completely before cutting.
038

Oh and you might want to pour yourself a big glass of milk.
This is one of the most decadent desserts ever.

And is noon too early to dig into these if I just had pancakes?

10 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

10 responses to “heavenly

  1. rhooby

    okay, don’t bother to post the caloric content in these babies because i know in my heart this is a soul dessert – one that is good for your soul. and like newman, pure evil….

  2. Lyn Slattery

    Think I’ll try these next weekend to celebrate my husband’s, my father’s and my son-in-law’s birthdays. Sounds divine!
    Mom

  3. katie

    i can probably measure the caloric intake by the growing size of my thighs. no, it’s not pretty, but those brownies sure are good and incredibly easy to make.

    mom, sounds like a plan! i have no doubt they’ll be a hit.

  4. shutterboo

    Nom nom! I need this in my mouth!

  5. katie

    shutterboo- they really are super easy to make. i suggest making them right away. 🙂

    • shutterboo

      Well I’m apparently retarded. I made these tonight for my mom (her b-day is tomorrow and Almond Joys are her fave so it made sense) and mine look NOTHING like yours. I don’t know if I piddled too much between putting the sc-milk on and the candies or what but they don’t look like that. They smell good so I’m hoping that means they taste good. Pitiful.

      • katie

        trust me- once your mom eats them, she certainly won’t care what they looked like. 🙂
        and i’ll bet they are delicious!

  6. Lydia

    Katie, your comment about the growing size of your thighs totally made me laugh! I’m so glad I still have a few friends out there who realize there are better things to do in life than to starve themselves. Thank you for the encouragement.

  7. katie

    Oh honey, I just speak the truth. They are out of control. Hmm, maybe I should actually join you at a yoga class again before hell freezes over! But yes, you are right, starving yourself gets you nowhere. I’ve got one life. I plan on eating my way through it.

  8. Lydia

    whatever, you looked great last time i saw you! but yes, you should join me for a yoga class again soon. it’s more fun when i have friends there. couldn’t agree with you more on eating your way through life. eating is one of the greatest pleasures!

Leave a Reply

