the horror **Update**

***I made the dreaded phone call and the automated response was:
“You qualify.”
I qualify? Really? How lucky for me. So what you’re telling me is that because I have a pulse I am selected for jury duty??? Hey thanks Federal court system. I can’t wait.
****************************************************

A few weeks ago I received one of the most devastating phone calls a person can get. My husband called to tell me (in his own evil way) that I had JURY DUTY. My heart raced, my pulse quickened, and my heart dropped right into the pit of my stomach. I had received the dreaded jury summons in the mail.

Now let me just say that I’ve lived in Atlanta for 11 years now. While most of my peers who have lived here just as long have never received a jury summons, I my friends, have now received 4. Yes, 4. I’ve been lucky enough that I’ve only had to sit on one jury. I’m afraid this one is different. This one isn’t your typical County Courthouse jury summons. Oh no, I’ve stepped it up a notch. No, I received a US District Court FEDERAL jury summons. This isn’t your average jury summons either. This one where you’re pretty much guaranteed to sit on a trial for 2-3 weeks.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME??

So, as I type this, I’m growing more and more stressed out at the thought of having to drive downtown tomorrow morning before 8am to sit in some room where I won’t know a single soul.

I can’t bring my phone, my iPod, or any other fun device that might help me pass the time. I can luckily bring a book.

So at some point today I’m supposed to call a number and enter my nine digit code to find out if my services are still needed.

Let’s all take a moment and join hands in hope that my “services” won’t be needed. Because between you and me, I don’t think my heart and pulse can handle it.

4 Comments

Filed under kmslat

4 responses to “the horror **Update**

  1. rhooby

    if anyone on here enjoys jury duty, fess up!!!

  2. katie

    my co-worker is salivating at the opportunity to sit on jury duty. anything to not work i guess. 🙂

  3. Lindsey

    in case you were going to try this, it doesn’t work…

  4. katie

    thanks for the thought anyway.

Leave a Reply

