black bottom cupcakes

038
Look. I never claimed to be a great cook, baker, what have you. The one thing I can make though is a cupcake. It’s obvious my love for all things cupcake as witnessed by a previous post “i ❤ cupcakes
And by the number of comments, I’m convinced you guys heart cupcakes too. I mean, let’s be honest…they’re cakes you can eat on the go. It’s a win – win.
So what was I saying? Oh yes, I love cupcakes. I love any excuse to make them too. And last night I had the perfect excuse to try out a new recipe for Black Bottom Cupcakes as today is my friend Amy’s birthday. Happy birthday Amy!

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 box Devil’s Food Cake Mix
1 8oz package of cream chese (softened)
1 egg
1/3 cup sugar
1/8 tsp. salt
12 oz. package chocolate chips

And here’s how you’ll make them:
In a medium bowl, mix the softened cream cheese, egg, sugar, and chocolate chips together.
Set aside.

Follow directions for mixing the devil’s food cake mix and then (using cupcake liners) portion the cake mix into the cupcake tins, filling them a little over 1/2 full. In each cupcake mix, drop between a teaspoon and a tablespoon size dollop of the cream cheese mix. Bake according to cake mix directions.

When you’re done you’ll have this:
028

And this:
042

4 Comments

Filed under kmslat

4 responses to “black bottom cupcakes

  1. rhooby

    i loooove these babies!!! they’re great for lunchboxes.

  2. katie

    My co-workers seemed to like them too! YEAH! Big huge success! Thanks rhoob!

  3. Lindsey

    Kelly discovered a place on the square called Cupcake Charm. You might have to go and do a review!

  4. katie

    I think I’m free this weekend. Hint hint.

Leave a Reply

