Grammer’s German Crumb Cake….

 

 

 

037

This cookbook belonged to my grandmother ,Grammer. (This copy technically still belongs to my granddad “D”. I just kind of stole it.  Heck, he’s 93 and only has a fridge and a microwave…he’s not using these recipes too much. 🙂 ) But I must explain the cover.  My grandfather is notorious for writing things in books. Doesn’t matter if it’s a dictionary, a TV Guide, or a cookbook, D writes on everything!  This cookbook just highlights all that is hysterical about my grandfather.  These were just a few of his favorite recipes.  Don’t worry, I’ll include a few of them in future posts.  I’m thinking Seafood Casserole. 😉

So, I really wanted to find an old recipe that belonged to Grammer.  I knew I would find one in here.  So here’s the one that I liked the most:

(I haven’t tested this one out yet, so if anyone tries it, let me know what you think…ps there’s a special surprise at the end…)

3 cups flour

2 cups sugar

1 cup shortening

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cloves

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp. soda

*Mix together first five ingredients to make crumbs.  Save one cup. To the rest of crumbs, add eggs, buttermilk and soda.  Put in greased 6″ x 9″ pan and sprinkle remaining cup of crumbs over top of cake.

Now…are you ready for the surprise?

Bake at 350 degrees.

Yeap, that’s where the recipe ends! No time, no nothing.  So, if anyone can tell me how long this recipe should bake, I’ll buy you thumb print cookies from my favorite bakery in Atlanta, Henri’s.

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under kmslat

7 responses to “Grammer’s German Crumb Cake….

  1. rhooby

    okay, girl, i know you’re talkin to me bout henri’s bakery!! i would bake that baby for 25 minutes, or “till a wooden pick inserted in the middle comes out clean.” and then i want a piece….

  2. rhooby

    on second blush, since it has 3 cups flour, i would bake it longer, maybe 35 minutes, and then start testing with the wooden pick in the center.

    • kmslat

      A dozen Henri’s cookies for you! I know I said thumbprint, but I will get you whatever kind of cookies, dessert goodies you’d like. Should we stop by on Saturday?? Or I can have them waiting for you on Friday. 🙂 YEAH!!! Thanks for the help!

  3. rhooby

    i love that you’re going through your grandmother’s cookbook. that’s a good way to honor her memory and find some great recipes – especially if she or D earmarked any. you can try them and discover what they loved to eat!

  4. Pingback: d’s buttermilk pancakes. « you are what you eat…or reheat

  5. Pingback: Food Memories – D’s Buttermilk Pancakes | Bon Appetit Hon

Leave a Reply

