vanilla frosting….

courtesy of Rhoob. Let me add that because I’m not adept at creating my own recipes, pretty much all of them come from rhoob…and my mom…and cookbooks…and pretty much anywhere else you can think of finding good recipes.  (The Atlanta Journal Constitution also publishes recipes, but we’ll save that for another day.)

What was I saying? Oh yeah, vanilla frosting!  Okay, so I decided to make red velvet cupcakes (store bought brand of course) but wanted to make the real deal for the frosting.  Rhoob made the best frosting I’d ever had on this day:

dscf1434

ps. those orange loving people are my 2nd family. Cute, huh?  Anyway, back to the vanilla frosting… let me just say that it was to die for.   So I attempted my first batch of it the other night.  I know it tasted good because I had a headache for the next three hours.  God bless sugar.  BUT…I had a problem with the consistency.  I’m not too bright when it comes to adjusting recipes, but thanks to Rhoob, I now know how to fix it. 

With that being said…hold onto your hats because this is some good stuff.  If I could, I’d take this stuff intravenously.

Beat the following ingredients on high speed (anyone catch the coldplay reference?) until smooth:

1 lb. powdered sugar

1/2 tsp. salt
6 tablespoons milk
(for chocolate frosting, melt 2 blocks unsweetened chocolate over very low heat and add to the above ingredients)
 
ADD:
6 tablespoons butter and 1 tsp vanilla.
012
Beat until fluffy.  May be stored in air tight container in fridge and used later. 
Now here’s where I messsed up…I didn’t have think about having extra milk or powdered sugar handy to firm the frosting up. Told you I’m not very smart. Just know that you need to have both extra on hand. 
Here’s what they looked like.  Now keep in mind they tasted like little pieces of heaven, but the frosting looks a little sad…again because I wasn’t smart enough to add more of the powdered sugar. Next time, I won’t make the same mistake. Now you don’t have to. 🙂
0151
0146

ps. my decorating skills are incredibly lacking.  i promise i’ll continue to work so that future cupcakes aren’t quite as embarassing as these. I’m just sayin’…

Leave a comment

Filed under kmslat

Leave a Reply

