My new toy and a recipe

before-after kitchen aid mixer

You may, or may not, have heard, but I kind of had a birthday last week.  {Shhhh…we don’t talk about age around these parts…} But gifts…we do talk about.  And that pretty little cobalt blue thing staring at you, well, that was one of my gifts.  I love it for so many reasons. 

It comes with the hope of being able to make some beautifully tasty desserts.  And it’s shiny. And pretty.  And blue. And I love it.

And I decided it had to be used, regardless of my kitchen skills.  So as I was reading Bon Appetit Hon the other day, I realized that she had shared the perfect recipe for my first mixer attempt. The recipe originated from 3 Baking Sheets to the Wind as it is one of her fondest food memories. Without going into deep detail, click over to both websites for great recipes and great fun. So oh yeah, the recipe looked pretty fool proof and it required minimal ingredients.  That alone was reason enough to make these little beauties.

So I did. And they were delicious.  Light, buttery, and rolled in confectioner’s sugar. Win-Win-Win.

russian tea cookies

If you’re up for giving your stand mixer a test run, take my advice and make these.

Oh and by the way, they’re called Russian Tea Cakes.

1 cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon almond extract
6 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar

Heat the oven to 350 degrees and line two sheet pans with parchment paper.
Combine the flour and 6 tablespoons of powdered sugar in a medium bowl and whisk until combined.
In the work bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the butter and almond extract until smooth.  Slowly add the flour mixture and mix until fully combined.

Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and place them about 1 inch apart on the prepared sheets.  Bake for 12 minutes.  Allow the cookies to cool completely before rolling them in the 1/3 cup powdered sugar.

Thanks to Wendi and Ali for making my first Kitchen Aid Mixer experience an incredible one!

31 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

31 responses to “My new toy and a recipe

  1. I love it! So pretty!! I got a white one as a gift (not complaining) but would have loved a red one!! Can’t wait to get mine out of storage and try this recipe!

  2. oh my gosh I LOVE the cobalt blue!!

    I have KitchenAid envy, big time.

    (and Russian Tea Cakes are AWESOME! Great pick!)

  3. I am JEALOUS!! I want one so bad…. and the blue is so pretty! I love your choice for the inaugural recipe. Yum!

  4. Oooooh shiiiiiny…I have loved these since I was little. My moms friend had a mixer with so many attachments it’s not even funny. Once I saw the cheese shredding attachment I was in love. Anyone that’s shredded a lot of cheese by hand could benefit from one of those!

    And I’m also jealous of your photography. You take such gorgeous photos!

    I love those little Russian tea cakes. My mom makes them and I end up snagging a bunch every time…

    • there’s a cheese shredding attachment?? seriously?

      these are pretty awesome mixers. i think i love mine. i just hope i can do it justice.
      ps. you’re so sweet. :)

      • You know there is a pasta roller attachment, a grinder attachment, and get ready…an ice cream maker attachment.

        Making cookies with this thing is only scratching the surface.

  5. rhooby

    those cookies are fabulous for a kitchen aid inaugural bake! (and they’re also one of the assorted christmas cookies at the old garth hilton!)

  6. I am giddy that you made those cookies in your new mixer and that they were a hit. Happy belated birthday.

    Your gift giver has fabulous taste in gifts. Have you named the mixer yet?

  7. Amy

    Cobalt blue – my favorite color. I wouldn’t know where to begin with one of those things, but I am sure that you will have tons of fun with it.
    Wish to tea cakes were real and not just a picture. One would go excellent with my coffee right now . . .

  8. I do so want one of those but I don’t have any place to keep it.

  9. Shiny! So pretty–I have the classic in white but I desperately want the olive green one these days.

    Those cookies I know as Vanilla Bites and made them one time for my office on a lark. My boss asked how much I’d charge for a box and I made 10 boxes (of 3 dozen cookies) that first year that we delivered to customers over the holidays. Several years later I was making 350 dozen, all in a single weekend, before I just couldn’t do it anymore.

    I still love those cookies but I’m glad I can get away with a single batch these days :)

  10. Wooooow! It’s beautiful! *trying not to walk into the light*

    Happy belated birthday to you too!!

  11. Congratulations!!!! It really looks pretty… love the color! I think you’ll have loads of fun, sweetie! Enjoy!

  12. I got a mixer for my bday last year and it changed my life… esp around christmas time.

  13. Pingback: My new toy and a recipe | Grocery Tips

  14. Katie! Katie O.! I’m beyond fashionably late to the party but congrats on your new toy! Smokin’ color, too. You wonder how you managed to live a normal life pre-mixer, right?

    Tina Churner. I’m dying here.

  15. you’re so lucky! i want a teal one so bad!

  16. Many congrats on the new mixer! Russian tea cakes are a wonderful way to break it in. :-) Love those!

  17. Pingback: Russian Tea Cakes «

Leave a Reply

