White Trash Wednesday – Oreo Truffles

Sometimes, no matter how white trashy, a recipe just sounds tasty. And this one, well, it sounds tasty. I admit it. I’m secure enough in my Alabama heritage to admit that I don’t exactly have a refined palate.

So when a recipe is called “Oreo Truffle”, you can bet your sweet hiney I’m gonna be a fan.

 

You’ll need:
1 Package crushed Oreo’s
8 oz cream cheese, softened
Chocolate (of any variety: milke chocolate, semi-sweet, white…)
Powdered Sugar

To make:
1. Mix crushed Oreo’s and cream cheese until blended
2. Refrigerate mixture for 2-3 hours
3. Meawhile, melt chocolate over low heat in a saucepan, stirring frequently
4. Shape into balls and quickly dip into the melted chocolate
5. Dip into sugar, top it off with crushed Oreo’s, drizzle with chocolate.
6. Freeze for 10-15 minutes until chocolate has set.

Enjoy.

Recipe adapted from Suzie’s Recipe Box.

18 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

18 responses to “White Trash Wednesday – Oreo Truffles

  1. That sounds amazing. I think we all need a little white trash in our lives (in the form of food, of course)!

  2. Katie, the question is…have you tried it yet?

  3. the “white trash” recipes often are just “semi-homemade”. Only trashy if you want them to be!

  4. Oreos balls are the shiz! I made some last year but dipped them in white chocolate and put little mini chocolate chips on the outside. They were so cute and so frickin yummy!!!! I’m not white trash!!

  5. they are sooooo yummy. I wouldn’t consider anything involving oreos and/or cream cheese white trash. If it is, then so am I!

  6. rhooby

    i think this is a winner! and because of the colors, it would also be a great halloween treat!

  7. I make these all the time! They are awesome, and if you put them in a decorative tin people swear they are store-bought!

    (Try them with the mint oreos… to-die-for)

  8. Can’t go wrong with Oreo’s! Seriously.

  9. My neices made these for Thanksgiving last year. They were fantastic. I had no idea what they were made of or how easy they are to make until they told me. If you haven’t tried them yet, then do it! You’ll love them.

  10. Yeah, my sister makes these for Christmas. (and she would poo and die twice if she knew her “truffles” were white trash-afterall, she owns the Pioneer Woman Cookbook-just sayin’)

    Anyway, they are so freekin’ good it almost makes me want to scream “Delish!”

    (but then I would have to cut my tongue out.)

  11. I think we have a winner! Sounds like you guys are all on board with this little recipe. Guess I am in fact going to have to make it. And that has nothing to do with the fact that it actually sounds tasty.
    (don’t judge me)

  12. Melissa Pattillo

    These are called Oreo Balls in my world. They come out only at Christmas. They are delicious and always a HUGE favorite at parties. My mom drizzles them with white chocolate.

  13. Mrs. Neighbor

    I’ve actually made this as a dip… rolling them is too fancy for me. make it the same way, and serve it with graham cracker sticks. salivating over here! but am too lazy to walk the 20 feet to steal some!

  14. Dude Oreo Truffles qualify as White Trash?? No way!

    Trust me, you want to try this one out for yourself. And do like Brooke said – dip them in white chocolate. YUM CITY.

  15. Pingback: White Trash Wednesday – Oreo Truffles | Grocery Tips

  16. Holy shots, Batman! I can’t even think about the truffles, that Oreo cookie shot stopped me in my tracks. I’m off to the store for a stash.

  17. sayitinasong

    I have a serious problem with your blog. The problem is that it is Sunday AM and I am salivating and desperately rummaging through my cupboards and I HAVE NO OREOS NOR CREAM CHEESE!!!! And the store does not open for another 2 hours… (yes, in Europe the stores do not open before noon on Sundays…) lol.

Leave a Reply

