Halloween Bars

016

Halloween is getting close and I’m doing all I can to get in the spirit. The 85 degree temperature isn’t helping much, so I’m forced to buy cheap decorations and treats to get me in the seasonal mood.

That’s okay because I really do love the cheap decorations and the throngs of candy bars sitting in a big plastic bowl on my kitchen counter. And sometimes I just enjoy baking those Halloween treats. So that’s exactly what I did. I found a recent Betty Crocker mini magazine and scooped a recipe straight from it. This one was for Halloween Goody Bars, but I’ll just call them Halloween Bars. Even if they were super good.

025019

Ingredients
1 1/2 cup quick cook oats
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1 cup butter, melted
1 cup chopped pecans
1, 14oz., can sweetened condense milk
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
2 tbsp butter, softened
3/4 cup Reese’s Pieces (or if you have the patience, orange and brown M&M’s)

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 13×9 in. pan with cooking spray
In a large bowl mix oats, flour, sugar, salt, and 1 cup butter with a spoon. Stir in pecans. Remove 1 cup, set aside to use later as the topping.
Press remaining mixture into pan.
In a saucepan, cook condensed milk, chocolate chips, and 2 tbsp butter over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the chocolate chips are melted and the mixture has turned into a smooth and creamy goodness.
Spread chocolate mix over crust.
Sprinkle with candies and reserved oat mixture, pressing oat mix into chocolate mixture.
Bake 23-25 minutes or until set.*
Cool completely- around 2+ hours. Cut into bars.

*Mine took over 35 minutes to cook completely, then again my oven is almost as old as I am.)

Ps. these bad boys are rich.  Enjoy with a giant glass of cold milk.
Pps. I have about 10 sitting downstairs. Feel free to stop by and take them away from me. Like I need a chocolate covered buttery oat and sugar bar. Yeap, just like I need a hole in my head.

17 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

17 responses to “Halloween Bars

  1. Those look boo-tiful! Sorry, I couldn’t resist. ;)

  2. They have a similar recipe in the latest Everyday Food magazine too. I’m going to use the leftover candy after the kids go trick-or-treating to make these.

  3. I thought they looked familiar ;-) Have this same recipe pulled out as a potential dessert option for the BYOP in 3 weeks!

  4. Amy

    When I got to the part about melting the butter and chocolate in the sweetened condensed milk, I think I passed out a little from sugar joy.

  5. rhooby

    oh my…… pure joy!!!!! halloween is fabulous!

  6. I just love Halloween treats. Can’t go wrong with Reeses Pieces either! I’ll trade you for some brownies and rice krispy treats…

  7. Major yum! Those Reeses pieces look so pretty in your Halloween bars! Fabulous!

  8. Reese’s Pieces for the win! I love those little peanutbuttery, candyshell coating boogers! If these were within 2 miles of me, I’d be eating them now.

  9. Pingback: Halloween Bars | Grocery Tips

  10. this is just plain EVIL!!! LoL i guess it’s festive for it being halloween.

    i can just imagine what the texture of the oats would be like on here. MMMMM!!!

  11. I just tweeted this! I want one now….

  12. Pingback: shutterboo » Blog Archive » Halloween Schmalloween

Leave a Reply

