{Smashing} Pumpkin(s) Bread

downtown nashville

The title of this blog post was originally going to be “It’s beginning to feel a lot like Fall”, but I was missing just one whole syllable so I opted for the more obvious title…”smashing pumpkins bread”.

It worked.
Okay, maybe not. But I like linking foods and songs/artists together. Makes me appear cheesily clever.
Or not.

So I spent the weekend visiting a sweet, sweet friend up in Nashville. And the weather was nothing short of perfect, thus the reason for the original post title. Highs ranging between the mid 70s- low 80s. In other words, I was in heaven. I was able to sit on her back patio and enjoy a slight crisp breeze without having to worry about whether or not my deodorant was strong enough.
(Don’t judge me. You know it happens.)

We spent the weekend taking walks with her incredibly awesome dog, Lady.
We ate at a little place called Germantown Cafe.
We wandered around the Parthenon.
Yes, the Parthenon.
parthenon nashville

And hung out with the arts and crafts kids down at TACA.

But the highlight of the weekend came in the form of Pumpkin Bread.
It screams fall, doesn’t it?
It’s baking, it’s pumpkin. It’s awesome.

And it should be known that I’ve already scarfed down two pieces today. It’s only 1020am.
It’s gonna be a good day.

pumpkin bread recipe 

128

147

Pumpkin Bread
{printable recipe}
2 cups (all purpose) flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup oil
2 eggs
1 cup pumpkin
1/4 cup water

Sift dry ingredients together. Mix remaining ingredients and add all at once to flour mixture. Beat well until mixture is smooth. Pour into greased, floured loaf pan.

Bake at 350 for 50 minutes.

28 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

28 responses to “{Smashing} Pumpkin(s) Bread

  1. Tes

    The pumpkin breads look so yummy! I really love to try this soon. I love the photos in your blog… they are so beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love pumpkin bread, and my kids just asked for it the other day. Guess I’d better get on it!

  3. Girl, you’re going all over the place. East then west then kind of north… I’d love to get back to Nashville seeing that I only spent one day there. And pumpkin bread… I’m not a big pumpkin fan but I’ll try anything once.

  4. I lurve pumpkin bread. Now, have you ever made pumpkin rolls? It’s like pumpkin Yodels, but without the chocolate coating. Delish.

    • Pumpkin rolls? No. Send recipe immediately!

      Brooke- I’m totally all over the place. This coming weekend I’m heading to Knoxville. It’s out of control.
      ps. try the pumpkin bread. Trust me. You’ll like it.

  5. My daughter asked me to make pumpkin bread the other day. I take your post as a sign that I need to make it today.

  6. rhooby

    i love it so much that i even buy candles scented like baking pumpkin bread. it really does smell “autumn.”

    • rhoob- I have a pumpkin candle that I keep in my closet. I think secretly that’s my happy place.
      ps. I’ll be expecting pumpkin muffins soon. :)

      Try it…I think this post is clearly a sign.

      • rhooby

        funny, i was thinking about sending ya’ll pumpkin muffins. when leigh was little, she called them “muppins”, then “muffnins.”

  7. Amy

    I love all things pumpkin and the bread is no exception. I love smelling it while it bakes. I love banana bread, too, but with pumpkin bread you don’t have to wait around for the fruit to ripen. Just open a can and go. So easy but so good!

  8. Mmm, nothing says “fall” like pumpkin bread. I’m not usually a baker but I need to get over that pronto.
    Oh, and I love the Smashing Pumpkins by the way . . . it may have to do with the fact that I fell in love with my husband when I first discovered their music. I can’t believe that was 9 years ago–yikes!

    • Jenna, I’m not a baker either. Shhh…don’t tell anyone.

      I love the Smashing Pumpkins too.. Soma especially, but stinking youtube blocked that video from being posted.

      Amy- exactly. Canned fruits and veggies are far more baking friendly. Open can and go.

  9. MEP

    You make A) me sound way too kind or cool or something — but I’ll take it! B) it sound like we did a whole lot, but it was all super chill and fun and C) like I am a good cook! I’ll take the credit but I know someone who will be very pleased her recipe was blog-worthy. You’re the best.

    PS- Can’t believe you didn’t include the denim photo ;)

  10. MEP

    PS — Sweet little Lady — how you captured her essence in that photo. That and her camera-shy nature.

  11. I think I am the only “food blogger” who doesn’t go nuts over pumpkin in the fall. I like the smell, but I don’t really care for the taste. Does this make me a foodie fraud?

    And yeah, I am totally jealous of all your travels. I’m also living vicariously through you, so keep it up! :-)

    • becki- i can’t even begin to list off the foods i won’t eat. you are not a foodie fraud.
      and hey, just keep in mind how much time i’m spending in my car…or on an airplane. that part stinks…but i’ll be sure to take pictures of all of my travels anyway. :)

  12. I love pumpkiny baked goods! It’s so freaking hot here (105 today), that the only way I ever feel like it’s fall is when our local bagel shop starts selling pumpkin bagels and pumpkin shmear. And I change up my standby banana bread and banana pancakes for pumpkin versions. I can’t wait to start making that stuff! I’m trying to wait til the weather is at least in double digits, though. :(

    • alyssa, i can’t believe it was so ridiculously hot out west today! that’s insane. crank up the ac and trick yourself into thinking it’s fall. then go in and make yourself a pumpkiny treat. :)

  13. Pingback: {Smashing} Pumpkin(s) Bread | Grocery Tips

  14. I love the post and thank you for the recipe I was at a loss for finding a good pumpkin bread recipe!

    I watched the video TWICE, I love that song. Now off to Amazon I go to find the CD…you know when you posted that Fishes Eddy link I just had to get the two plates and the mug for my brother which the UPS man handed to my other half as he was walking up to our front door after a long day at work.

    I didn’t mention to him that your blog inspires me to shop online…it’ll have to be our little secret.

    • you crack me up! it’s bad when blogs do that. boogie’s is my nightmare. i want every dish, prop he uses.
      and i still need to order those plates and mugs too.
      and of course, it’s our little secret.
      now go buy that cd on amazon. ;)

  15. Anthropologie = <3
    What it does to my wallet = </3

  16. Pingback: Pumpkin Bread « Try It You Might Like It

  17. gorgeous shot of the loaves in the oven. love the lighting!!! they look incredibly moist & yummy

Leave a Reply

