Sugar cookies and icing.

263

I started this week with full intentions of eating healthy. Alright fine, healthier. That never really happened though. I drank more water. I even used my elliptical machine a couple of times. But that whole eating healthier part eluded me.

So let’s just forget about that whole trying to be healthy nonsense and focus on cookies.
Sugar cookies.
With icing.

Because let’s be honest, no one really wants to talk about working out.
Or eating healthy crap like kale and spinach.
No offense, but ugh. I mean it’s fairly obvious that the whole elastic waistband club is undeniably in my future, but at least I’ll be happy eating sugar cookies with icing.
252

250

261

And in case you wanted to make these little treats for your friends or family (or let’s be honest, for yourself), please do. Just remember to have a pair of pants with a drawstring or some elastic ready for future comfort.

Cracked Sugar Cookies
Ingredients
1 1/4 cups white sugar
1 cup butter
3 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla extract (clear)
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tspcream of tartar

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).
Cream together sugar and butter.
Beat in egg yolks and vanilla.
Add flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar. Stir.
Form dough into walnut size balls and place 2 inches apart on cookie sheet. Don’t flatten.
Bake 10 to 11 minutes, until tops are cracked.

And if you want to go all out, top them with a little icing.
Sugar Cookie Icing.
Ingredients
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 tsp milk
2 tsp light corn syrup
1/4 tsp almond extract
food coloring (of your choice)

Directions
In a small bowl stir together confectioners’ sugar and milk until smooth. Beat in corn syrup and almond extract until icing is smooth and glossy. If icing is too thick, add more corn syrup.
Paint cookies with a brush.

Enjoy.
And if I haven’t said it lately, thanks for continuing to read this here little blog.
And for making me want to make bad things to eat.
I owe you all for my gradual weight gain.
Love ya, mean it!
:)

11 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

11 responses to “Sugar cookies and icing.

  1. Christina

    If I wasn’t married (and pregnant), I would totally offer to be your live-in maid and assistant for free! Just to be able to sample all of these treats every day. I would even walk the dogs! :)

  2. Amy

    Those cookies are so cute and innocent looking. They would never betray your waistline. Would they?

    Love your little blog!

  3. Let us talk about cookies. I love cookies. I could devote an entire month of blog posts to cookies alone. That’s how much I love them. Granted, they take the backburner to ice cream but that’s only because ice cream is easier to obtain.
    Thanks for the icing recipe – I’ve already got Christmas cookies on the brain. I can’t wait!

  4. I’m decorating cookies today, too! Not sugar cookies, though. Chocolate chip espresso shortbread cookies. To go with a white chocolate mocha cake. MUAHAHAHAHA

    Your cookies are beautimous, btw. You painted the icing on, eh? Why for?

    • Okay, in all fairness, “sister” made these cookies. And the icing. I formed a few into hearts. But that icing recipe is perfect isn’t it?
      No cooking involved.

      And Brooke- maybe that’s what I should do. A month’s worth of cookie posts. I love that idea.

      Amy- the feeling is mutual. i heart your blog too.

      Christina- don’t you dare. you keep cooking that little baby. cannot wait to meet her!!!! oh and if sugar cookies are needed to welcome her to the world, i’ll be making these.

  5. These cookies are totally worth some elastic waistbands… they are so pretty and sound tasty, too!

  6. rhooby

    send me some of those!!!!!! NOW!

  7. Just the sight of those made me smile. It’s love, in cookie form.

  8. I still think you should start an elastic pants club. I’ve heard elastic pants are called happy pants! I’m so glad I found your blog. Thanks for sharing the cookie recipe. That’s what I need is more junk in my trunk. ;)

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sugar cookies and icing. « you are what you eat…or reheat -- Topsy.com

  10. I love sugar cookies… very easy to make and very satisfying. Love the pink hearts, too!

Leave a Reply

