Prosciutto Ravioli

These days, the food I’ve been making (for blogging purposes, of course) really has increased my need for elastic waistband pants. No, really.

So my grocery list today included things like plums, squash, water, strawberries, and Lean Cuisines.

I got home, drank a liter of water and felt better about things. Even took the dogs for a walk.

Then I decided to make dinner.
And what do I make?
Pasta. Carb filled pasta.

Will and power are two words NOT in my vocabulary.
Clearly.

It’s obvious that pasta is my kryptonite. If it’s the same for you, then I hope you’ll make this dish. Because even though I felt guilty about eating pasta….filled with prosciutto, spinach and ricotta…this dish was simple and delicious.

And just remember, the diet can always start tomorrow.

prosciutto ravioli

That’s what I keep telling myself.

Recipe adapted from Giada De Laurenttis – Prosciutto Ravioli.

24 Comments

Filed under kmslat

24 responses to “Prosciutto Ravioli

  1. Dionne Baldwin

    I give up on diets. If anything I’ll exercise more starting tomorrow.

    This ravioli looks really good. It would SO be worth indulging!

  2. Amy

    Prosciutto is one of the world’s most perfect foods. This looks so tasty!

  3. If there’s spinach in it, you’re good. That’s what I tell myself when I’m shoveling cheese-infested spinach dip into my gourd. And I totally agree with Amy – Italian bacon for the win.

  4. Pasta is my Waterloo! I cannot eat just a little bit. Looks delish!

  5. I had the same experience when I was testing the last few recipes for the cookbook–somehow I left a lot of the high-carb, hi-fat options until the last few weeks which fell in the middle of Summer.

    We’ve since switched back to our more usual low-carb eating but, oh, pasta… om nom nom nom.

  6. Linda

    Wonderful pic – almost good enough to eat – and makes me hungry. Diets are boring but necessary evils. Think I’ll go hunt down some pasta for lunch……..Thanks for sharing.

  7. Two words: chicken castellina.

    My MIL made it for us the other day…OMW pasta heaven. I won’t let myself make it until I’ve gotten past this little weight loss hurtle…but you should probably go ahead and have some for me. Like, now.

    http://www.olivegarden.com/recipes/recipe_search/recipe_display.asp?id=29

  8. That looks really yummy…..although I’ve been trying to avoid carbs so this dish is the devil….Oh how I love pasta….sigh. I’ll live vicariously through you.

  9. Pingback: Prosciutto Ravioli | Grocery Tips

  10. This sounds delicious!

  11. Your opening statement just begs us to ask once again the eternal question: why does everything bad for us have to be so tasty? As a pasta lover I have to try this. But then I have to diet *sob*

  12. William

    http://www.whatwereeating.com/
    I was wandering the web, and found this site. The food looked so good that I just had to share it.

  13. wonton wrappers??? really? i’ve never made ravioli ’cause i don’t have the machinery & counterspace for it… but now i don’t have any excuses! is it november yet, so i can try this recipe? i’m trying to be carb free until after halloween :O(

    • oh honey, wonton wrappers are the best! no fuss, no mess and you can make some killer desserts with them. can you say nutella filled wontons drizzled with chocolate sauce?

  14. Oh I totally know how you feel! Last weekend was my birthday and I basically ate all weekend. I figured “it’s my birthday, I’ll diet on Monday.”

    Plus, I seem to be allergic to carbs. They make my midsection and butt get all big and round. : )

  15. Lindsey

    I decided to make this while visiting my aunt this weekend in Williamston, SC. I went to the local Bi-Lo and they didn’t have the wonton wrappers or prosciutto. We had to drive 30 minutes to Anderson to find them, but it was totally worth it. I am convinced the guy at Bi-Lo didn’t even know what prosciutto was…but they did have an abundance of pig’s feet. There has to be some sort of white trash recipe in there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

