White Trash Wednesday! Spam Hashbrown Bake

Since last week’s white trash recipe got so many of you talking about Spam, glorious Spam, I thought I’d take the “food” and run with it!

I randomly came across a recipe for Spam Hashbrown Bake.  And no, sadly, I haven’t tried it (I have an aversion to Spam that goes back to my childhood). But maybe one day, I’ll be brave enough to go into the test kitchen and prepare this dish. Still not sure I could actually eat it.

Spam Hashbrown Bake
Makes 8 Servings

{Printable recipe}

Ingredients:
1 pkg Frozen hashbrown potatoes, slightly thawed
1/2 Cup Butter, melted
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
2. cups shredded cheddar cheese
1 can SPAM Luncheon Meat, cubed
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/4 cup diced green chilies, drained (Chi-Chis brand recommended)
2 cups crushed potato chips

Directions:
Heat oven to 350F.
In a large bowl combine potatoes, melted butter, salt, pepper, and garlic powder.
In a separate bowl, combine the cheese, SPAM, soup, sour cream, milk, onion, and green chilies.
Next, add the Spam mixture to the potato mixture; mix well.
Pour into a 2-quart baking dish.
Sprinkle with crushed potato chips.
Bake 45-60 minutes or until heated through.

Seems like a perfect dish for a potluck dinner. 

An incredibly white trash potluck dinner.

The original recipe can be found here.

16 Comments

Filed under kmslat

16 responses to “White Trash Wednesday! Spam Hashbrown Bake

  1. My dad loves spam! He used to fix it for us for breakfast all of the time. I think he likes it b/c he grew up in the depression (when spam was a delicacy). It’s actually pretty good if you cook it right – crispy on the outside.

  2. I think if you traded the spam for ham (or bacon!) and left off the potato chip topping you might have something worth eating. :)

  3. Amy

    It’s not a white trash cassarole without the potato chip topping, is it?
    Know where you lost me with this recipe? Cream of Chicken Soup. I’ll eat a whole tin of raw Spam before I ever even think of opening a can of cream of chicken soup. It’s unholy. I’m getting cold sweats just thinking about it. Blech!

  4. rhooby

    gag. just……… gag.

  5. My husband would have more of a problem with the hashbrowns than he would with the Spam lol But I think I agree with Mrs. Rev. Might have to try it with regular ham :)

  6. Spam has such eminently universal appeal. I love Spam fried in a sandwich or with rice and fried eggs. I’d have to check out your recipe. I t sounds white-trash-delicious!

  7. My neighbor (you know who you are) apparently makes spam fried rice. I think he’s going to have to whip up a batch.

    And yes, potato chip topping = white trash.
    Substituting spam for any other meat would be a vast improvement. :)

  8. ugh…just thinking about the smell of heated up Spam makes me gag a bit. None of us would need Elastic Waistband memberships if all we had available to us was Spam!

  9. Neighbor

    That…

    looks…

    AWESOME!

  10. Pingback: White Trash Wednesday! Spam Hashbrown Bake | Grocery Tips

  11. What a great recipe and a very nice blog.

  12. Pingback: BBFL

Leave a Reply

