Banana Split Ice Cream Cake

bs ice cream cake3 

If you’re anything like me, you spend far too much time on recipe websites. I live my life in search of those “easy” recipes. The other day I was over on Tasty Kitchen (on of the Pioneer Woman’s 4000 sites) and found a recipe for a Banana Split Ice Cream Cake

Figured since it was my husband’s birthday and since he’s a fan of all things related to banana splits, I’d give it a whirl. So I called in the assistance of my sister, “Sister”, and we got to work. 

{No photo available.} 

And an afternoon of putting this bad boy together, freezing it overnight and then part of the following day, we finally had an obscenely decadent dessert on our hands. 

  

bs ice cream cake 

bs ice cream cake2 

Not to worry, I didn’t eat it all by myself.  I saved a sliver for my husband. 

22 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

22 responses to “Banana Split Ice Cream Cake

  1. Christina

    this looks DE-LISH! Tell the hubby happy b’day for me!

  2. That looks amazing! I just got hungry…

  3. I was wondering what “bs” stood for. So happy to know it’s banana split.

  4. Would you make it again? It looks worth it and my dad would love it but for someone who is still mastering the art of the cupcake, do you think this is doable or will I just find myself sitting on the kitchen floor eating whipped cream…again? :)

    • mary- i would absolutely make it again. totally worth it and relatively easy. just be patient. that waiting is the hardest part. but if you want to sit down on the floor eating whipped cream out of the reddi-whip can, who’s gonna stop you?

  5. Whoa. This looks so good. But I would eat it all by myself, so I don’t think I should make it. :-)

  6. Sister

    That turned out pretty! Ooooh, let’s revisit with chocolate and vanilla ice cream, maybe cookie dough in place of bananas, and heath bar or butterfinger in place of strawberries. Thoughts?

  7. i’m SO making this after i’m off my diet.

    ….. in november!

    LoL

  8. This looks so pretty and delicious that I have to forgive the use of bana-yucks. But I got my eye on you!

    • Anamaris, I loathe bananas. I actually tried to eat them in it, but I have found myself picking them out. So for an alternative, please refer to Sister’s new ingredient list.

  9. omg…foodgasm…thanx for the post

  10. Sounds delicious!!… My boyfriend refuses to eat any sort of cake that has actual cake in it, so I’ll have to make this one for him!!

  11. Hi. Let me start by saying I love your blog, and I love your White Trash Wednesday recipes – so funny, and mostly yummy :) I have a recipe for Ice-Cream Cupcakes on my blog (http://fontgirl.wordpress.com/2010/08/17/ice-cream-cupcakes/) – feel free to stop by and give me feedback.

    Keep up the great blogging!

    Stay Calm, Have a Cupcake – http://www.fontgirl.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

