Mashed Potatoes

mashed potatoes 2

It never fails that I set out to eat well and end up failing miserably. After reading through your lists of favorite comfort foods I had an overwhelming urge to make mashed potatoes.

So, I went against my better judgement (and my growing waistline) and made them. And because I’m such a giver,  I’m sharing this recipe with you.  Won’t you join me in the elastic waistband club?

Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients:
2 1/2 lbs yukon gold potatoes cubed (or small red potatoes halved)
1/2 cup half and half
4-8oz cream cheese (depending on how creamy you want the consistency to be)
salt and pepper
sprinkle of garlic salt
1/2 cup grated parmesan

Directions:
Place potatoes in a pot of cold water. Boil the potatoes until tender (when pierced with a fork), about 15 minutes. Drain potatoes and return to warm pot. Mash the potatoes. Slowly add the half and half so as to avoid a pasty texture. Mash the cream cheese, salt & pepper, and garlic salt together until creamy. Finish it off by mixing in the parmesan.

Serve warm with a side of fried chicken.  Or is it the other way around?

Elastic Waistband Club Forever!

 

22 Comments

Filed under kmslat

22 responses to “Mashed Potatoes

  1. OMG!! And I was doing so good. You, my friend, are evil.

  2. Dear Katie O.,

    I love you.

    Sincerely,
    -mairzeebp and her waistband

  3. Mine are always lumpy. Always. I need a personal masher to mash for me.

  4. No likey the lumpy? Get a ricer-masher. This has been a public service announcement.

  5. Molly

    i LOVE cream cheese in smashed taters, instead of butta…but, I never use cream in mine…and I leave on the skins.

    I guess my mashed are more smashed and dirty ;)
    (but ooo so good)

  6. Mmmm….mashed potatoes. Guess it would be wrong to serve this with the alfredo I’m making for my Dad tonight, huh?

    Where’s my EWC keychain?

  7. Mashed potatoes are my comfort food, too. I am Carb Queen.

  8. rhooby

    sooooooo good. so very good!!

  9. Amy

    You can never go wrong with mashed potatoes. That plate is the cutest, too!

  10. You can use a potato rice to make it a smoother consistency, but you won’t be working the potatoes too much so it won’t be that starchy. But what’s wrong with a few lumps in mashed potatoes? It gives it that rustic feet (not like eating the packaged stuff).

    *hands up* I’ll join your your club!

  11. I love my potato ricer. We boil the potatoes with the skins on (to preserve the vitamins… ha… really because we’re lazy and it’s easier to not peel them) and then user the potato ricer to make the mashed potatoes. The skins stay in the ricer and you get perfect mashed potatoes.
    I’m afraid I’m going to need to join your club soon. I’ve been making too much delicious food lately.
    I like the side of fried chicken.

  12. Oh yeah, I was commenting originally to tell you that I love that plate and went off about my potato ricer. Cool plate!

  13. Excellent information, this is exactly what I needed. Thanks. Keep up the good work!

  14. Pingback: Mashed Potatoes | Grocery Tips

  15. I like my potatoes with some texture (aka lumps and skin).

  16. Pingback: Mashed Potatoes | Grocery Tips

Leave a Reply

