iced mocha frappe

Yesterday was yet another 100 degree day here in Atlanta and it’s practically impossible to cool off. So in an effort to beat the heat I made a frosty treat…one that should only be consumed when you don’t give a rat’s hiney about calories…
Trust me…

iced mocha frappe

Ingredients:
4 cups brewed coffee, hot
4 packs hot chocolate mix
4 tablespoons sugar (I opted for 2 packets splenda- my lame attempt at saving calories)
1 cup heavy cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Whipped cream, for garnish

Directions:
In a heat-proof bowl or pitcher, add the coffee, hot chocolate mix, and sugar/splenda. Stir until well combined. Pour the mixture into ice cube trays and freeze, covered, for at least 3 hours and up to 1 week.

When ready to make, put the frozen cubes* in a blender. Add the cream and vanilla and puree until smooth. Divide the frappe into tall glasses and top with whipped cream.
iced mocha frappe2
*I  had enough coffee mix for two ice trays, but only used one tray of cubes when making the frappe. Still used 1 cup cream and 2 tsp vanilla extract.

ps. does this blog make me look fat? i thought so.
pps. this was pretty darn close to tasting just like a starbucks mocha frappuccino except I think the version I made had twice as many calories.  heavy cream? are you kidding me?

11 Comments

Filed under kmslat, sweet nothings

11 responses to “iced mocha frappe

  1. when it comes to coffee… calories don’t count. right?

  2. A cup of heavy cream?!

    Whoa there, tiger. You’re gonna rival me in the Calorie Offender category.

    Then again, you might wanna stick around cause one of these days I’m gonna finish up and Publish my latest post about chicken alfredo and cheesecake. Together. In the same meal.

  3. rhooby

    where are the chocolate sprinkles?

  4. Neighbor

    Forget the Iced Mocha Frappe…you need an ORANGE MOCHA FRAPPUCCINO!

    • ask the husband- other than the wedding singer, zoolander is hands down one of my all-time favorite movies.
      “pops…I think I’ve got the black lung…{cough cough}.”

  5. Lydia

    Oh I’m sorry, I didn’t realize you were wanting to do a Lane Bryant photo shoot. STOP TRYING TO MAKE ME FAT!!! :) hahahaha

Leave a Reply

