Taqueria Del Sol’s Queso Dip

Or what I like to call, “the nectar of the gods”.

My friend Mary Ellen has always had an intense love with salsa. I mean it borders on the level of obsession really. I never understood that deep seeded love until I tasted Taqueria Del Sol‘s queso.  Maybe you’ve heard me talk about TDS before…because yes my sweet friends, I too am obsessed.

As yesterday was Cinco de Mayo (or what my sister refers to as Cinco de Drinko), I felt that it was only appropriate I should attempt to recreate TDS’s addictive as crack queso dip.  Let’s just say I won some kind of lottery because the recipe was already on line.  As it turns out, Executive Chef Eddie Hernandez does not shy away from sharing his recipes. (If I ever see him, I may in fact throw myself at his feet as a gesture of thanks.)

tds queso

Because not only is this recipe insanely easy to make, it tastes spot on.

Up for a quick and easy and the best cheese dip you’ll ever taste challenge?
Make this.
Immediately.

Ingredients:
1 cup milk
4 cups shredded American Cheese (get it at the deli counter. and just ask for a hunk of it.)
diced pickled jalapenos (this I will leave up to you. if you like it spicy, add about 1/4 cup, if not, toss in a few)
fresh jalapenos to taste

Directions:
In a large saucepan, bring milk to a boil and then immediately remove from heat. Stir in the shredded cheese and pickled jalapenos. Whisk until smooth (working your arm muscles all the while). This could take about 5 minutes to get thoroughly smooth.

Garnish with a couple of diced jalapenos.
And serve.

(makes about 2 1/2 cups)

You’re welcome.

11 Comments

Filed under kmslat

11 responses to “Taqueria Del Sol’s Queso Dip

  1. Dionne Baldwin

    YUM. That sums it up.

  2. rhooby

    ahhhhh….. that really is the best dip!!! and i’m so glad the chef was willing to share with you and that you shared with us!!! yum!

  3. Amy

    I want to live in that picture!

  4. Woot! Sounds awesome. I’ll be making this one. I’m also a fan of the salsa and jalapenos, too! Thanks!

  5. MEP

    Katie’s right — on all of the email surveys that go out with questions like..
    Vanilla or Chocolate Ice Cream?
    Favorite movie?
    Last book you read?
    What’s under your bed?
    Favorite Facebook Friend? (assuming of course they haven’t de-friended you)…

    I always reply…
    Favorite food: Salsa

  6. jeanjet

    Hi, my whole family Super Loves Taqueria del Sol but this recipe is SO not the cheese dip they serve. Totally tastes more like aerosol cheese spray (read “cheese whiz”) than Velveeta with Rotel. Have also tried the jalapeno cole slaw recipe they gave the AJC to publish and it, too, does not produce the same product served in the Restaurant (that recipe calls for the juice of 1 lemon which, when eaten side by side, literally, with a side of JCS from TDS, clearly bears little resemblence to the restaurant recipe (omit the lemon and you’re much closer to the real deal).
    I wish sites would stop publishing restaurant/celebrity recipes that are not the real thing…very disappointing. Just like the Watershed Chocololate Cake recipe…at least it tastes like the restaurant recipe, it just doesn’t bake up the way it would have to for a commercial enterprise to serve it every day….

    • hi jeanjet, i’ve tried recipes posted claiming they’re similar to that of something in a restaurant only for it to taste nothing remotely like the real thing, but my husband and i both thought this recipe for taqueria’s cheese dip was spot on. i found that adding an extra amount of the pickled jalapeno juice really gave it that kick.

Leave a Reply

