An anniversary and a giveaway

In just a week’s time, this little blog will be one year old.

That means one year of nattering on about nothing.

Making healthy meals. (Hardy har har.)
022

Showcasing my dogs ad nauseam.
ro-ro

011

And fumbling my way through photography.
014

228

A year ago I never thought I would have “met” so many amazing people…or discovered that I love writing, photography, and cooking this much. Okay, so I didn’t think I would love these things enough to keep doing them every single day of my life. But as it turns out, I do.
A lot.

So in honor of this little anniversary I’m giving away an autographed copy of the cookbook “Life After Ramen” courtesy of the incredibly fabulous authors Randy MacDonald and Ann Thatcher.
cookbook

*To enter the contest just answer the following question in the comments section of this post:

What is the one thing in your kitchen you cannot live without?

No entries after 11p Monday, March 15th. (thanks becki d!)

Winner to be announced Tuesday afternoon.

Good luck! And thank you for being a part of this first year!

64 Comments

Filed under kmslat

64 responses to “An anniversary and a giveaway

  1. Marie Staker

    I can’t live with out my spice rack. That give me limitless possibilities on fixing yummy meals.

  2. dr b

    this one is easy… my partner, leslie, is a chef. far more useful (and cuddly) than any kitchen tool.

  3. missjanice

    A mixing bowl – the beginning of so many “yummy”-ies:) Love your blog!

  4. No entries after Monday, March 8?? Hmm…..

    I couldn’t live without my hanging pot rack. Crazy, huh? But it is sooo much nicer than shoving all my pots and pans into a cabinet, only to have the Little One pull them all back out again. Love love love the pot rack.

    P.S. – today’s my birthday! A cookbook would be fabulous! ;-)

  5. I’m going to go out on a limb and say a recipe card. Because I usually fail without some kind of direction.

  6. OH MY GOODNESS… you do not fumble with photography! You are very talented, and I love the dogs. I would also love to win this book…. I don’t think I have ever won anything, and this giveaway is so cool. I love having my boyfriend in the kitchen with me. He inspires me to try new things and use less butter. HA HA.

  7. I love my tongs! I use them for everything!

  8. Amy

    It’s a little antiquated, but my kitchen timer. My apartment was built in the 1920s, so my stove/oven does not include a clock or timer. My digital kitchen timer enables me to never overcook any of my favorite recipes and/or burn down my apartment!

  9. Natalie

    I would say i can’t live without my sponge and dish soap. I love to wash dishes – i find it really relaxing. I know, I know – weird. And yes i will come do your dishes. :-)

  10. Nicole-Lynn

    Cute cookbook. The one thing I can’t live without in my kitchen is my mixing bowls! I use them for baking, as well as scrap bowls when cooking and they come in handy.

    Seasidesmitten@aol.com

  11. Stephanie

    Sadly, the one thing I could not live without in my kitchen is my extensive collection of takeout menus. Which is WHY I so badly need this cookbook. It sounds like it is meant for a girl like me…..
    Love the blog!

  12. Frank

    I would say that I can’t live without a big bottle of cheap red wine because it makes my cooking much more enjoyable and possibly more appitizing. My personal recommendation for cheap red is the Five Oaks Cabernet available at Rite Aid for $3.99. The amazing thing about this wine is that it somehow tastes better than almost all $10 wines of Caberenet. Congratulations on a year of writing and cooking!

  13. Justice Oblinger

    My food bowl. It has my name on it.

  14. Jaynie

    The “HI” knob on our stove – I like to burn everything!

  15. Star

    my dutch oven and absolute must have

  16. DAMN GINA

    Dog Hair

  17. rhooby

    my cookbooks. i can’t cook without them.

  18. Jenn

    My Le Creuset dutch oven – hands down, the best wedding gift we received. We use it constantly!

  19. Whitney

    Toaster oven. Yum.

  20. Christie

    You are simply fabulous! Congratulations on a year of writing. Your blog is entertaining, your recipes are delicious, your photography is beautiful, and your stories always bring a smile to my face. Thank you for letting us into your world of fun, flavor, and beauty.

    As for the one thing in my kitchen I can’t live without…well considering my kitchen is packed away in boxes in a storage unit, I guess I would say I miss the intangibles the most. I miss the aromas, the warmth, and the laughter of friends in my kitchen.

    Cheers sweetie! Here’s to many more years of blogging.

  21. Justina

    White Basmiti Rice or Tator Tots… one or the other.

    Also, Pots and pans… my roommate free-cycled ours a week and a half before we moved last year and I ended up trying to fry things in the oven on a cookie sheet… didn’t work so well.

  22. SarahD

    My food processor. Lots of yummy things can be made with that! Congrats on one year of writing!

  23. Amy

    My KitchenAid stand mixer. I probably don’t need it – need it, but I just love it so much!

  24. Emily

    I can’t live without my tea kettle. Boiling water in just a minute! Can’t beat that! Thanks for the giveaway!

  25. Brandy Wilson

    I CANNOT live without my Blendtec blender. It is the answer to everything! Second is my rice cooker. I will never ever ever cook rice on the stove again.

    –Brandy

    fosterbrandy(at)msn(dot)com

  26. Julia

    A good chopping knife. There’s nothing more frustrating than having to saw through everything because you don’t have a good knife to speed you along. Thanks!

  27. MEP

    My microwave — it does most of the heavy cooking.

  28. Lindsay

    I cannot live without my rice maker!

  29. Paris H

    Cayenne Pepper – Makes canned soup more edible, makes my scrambled eggs more exciting, and adds necessary heat to my life :)

  30. salt!!! i put it on everytrhing….

  31. Jullee

    My knives! I bought really high quality knives when I got married and I use them like they are going out of style.

  32. Hmm I rely on so many things in my kitchen, but I really could not live without my red IKEA plastic cutting board. i use it multiple times a day.

    waterchic83@yahoo.com

  33. Martina

    The one thing in my kitchen I can’t live without is my wine opener!

  34. Megan

    My favorite red spatula is the one thing I would not and could not live without! I’ve seen this cookbook before and I am excited to try it out! Thanks for the giveaway!

  35. Cee

    My husband made me a huge wooden cutting board that I use daily. I also couldn’t live without our nonstick oven-top grill pan. It’s smooth on one side and ridged on the other. We mostly do pancakes with it, however. Thank you for this giveaway!

  36. As a college student…I’d have to say my microwave; I do most of my cooking the microwave, sadly.

  37. Else

    I couldn’t cook without squash!
    No really though, I couldn’t cook without Nielsen Massey vanilla. I’ve been making creme brule for years now and it’s the brand of vanilla I swear by. I have no idea how I baked without it!

  38. Celestia

    I couldn’t live without my cheese slicer!

  39. emc436

    I cannot live without my non-stick saute pan. I literally use it for almost every meal! Or, atleast the meals that are not frozen and require a microwave.

    Thanks for the chanc!!

    em9499 at gmail dot com

  40. Christy

    My husband. I need him to get down all the stuff in the cabinets I can’t reach :)

  41. Kasey

    Good, sharp knives!

  42. Jo

    My silicone spatula. I can stir, fry, mix, the possibilities are endless! :)

  43. A strainer— I make pasta waaay too often. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Rachelhwallen@gmail.com

  44. Rachel C

    I’m going to have to say I would be lost without my big pasta cooking pot.

  45. candice orpesa

    Oregeno…nuff said huh? lol I put oregeno on everything!!!! def can’t live without it haha Thanks for the aswome giveaway!
    corpesa14@yahoo.com

  46. nfmgirl

    Extra virgin olive oil. I use it all of the time.

  47. Connie Bryant

    Hi! Congrats on your blog. I would have to say first it would be a giveaway. Second, it would be bowls to store food in. Third, it would be ketchup. My sister uses ketchup a lot. :)

  48. Beth

    I can’t live without my microwave, which is why I need this book!

  49. Brandy

    The one thing I couldn’t live without is my set of J.A. Henckels knives. They are the best I’ve ever used.

  50. Probably our emulsifier. We make so much soup — I’d be lost without it!

  51. tlm24x

    My Kitchen Aid Mixer! I got it recently and am not sure how I lived without it!

  52. Anna

    My salad bowl for tossing a big salad- I love salads!
    annaholcombe@yahoo.com

  53. avalonne83

    Great giveaway!
    I can’t live without chocolate.

    Please count me in. Thanks.

    avalonne83 [at] yahoo [dot] it

  54. G-baby

    My microwave oven. I’ve been really creative with my microwave dishes lately and I’m hoping to “graduate” to the stove with this book ! ^^

  55. I definetly could not live without herbs! I need herbs (fresh preferably) or in a jar if out of season. You need them to make food have great flavor!

  56. I’d have to say my Foreman-style grill, with my crockpot coming in a close second. With the first one, I can cook meats without thawing quickly, toast sandwiches, grill inside, etc. With the crockpot, I can’t exactly cook quickly, but I can ensure that dinner is hot and ready when we come home from work or that foods stay hot and delicious during buffets/parties.

  57. Erika

    Love the way my microplane does everything from chocolate to lemon zest to fluffy mounds of parmesan.

  58. the one thing in my kitchen i can’t live without is.. music. for so many reasons.

  59. my rabbit wine opener :)

  60. Courtney

    I cant live without my cutting bboard!

  61. Denise

    Can’t live without my Pampered Chef mixing bowl.

  62. Amanda

    I can’t live without my baking stone! I love freshly made bread.

  63. I can’t live without my apron, because I’m a very messy cook ^^’

  64. Lindsey

    I cannot live without olive oil. I use it for everything! The best part is that it is healthy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

