White Trash Wednesday! Diet Coke Sloppy Joes

You can thank Jim Gaffigan for putting the Diet Coke recipe bug in my head. The other day he “tweeted” that his wife looked at him funny for making “diet coke french toast”. I was hopeful he’d actually share the recipe, but I had no such luck. Instead, it prompted me to go in search of recipes that use Diet Coke. Call me crazy, but adding Diet Coke to any recipe seems a little white trashy to me. Much like adding Mountain Dew.

I give you Diet Coke Sloppy Joes (courtesy of recipezaar.com).

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 lb lean ground beef
1 medium onion, chopped
1 1/2 tablespoons arrowroot
1 cup diet cola
2/3 cup ketchup
2 tablespoons vinegar
1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
2 teaspoons mustard
Hamburger buns

To make:

Brown beef and onion in a large skillet.
Drain well.
Stir in remaining ingredients. Mix ingredients together well.
Cover and simmer for 30 minutes.

Serve on hamburger buns with a side of tater tots.

2 Comments

Filed under kmslat

2 responses to “White Trash Wednesday! Diet Coke Sloppy Joes

  1. mmm, if i were a meateater, i’d be all over that. think i’ll just have a diet coke instead…

    • katie o.

      if you have a really good vegetarian recipe (that you think I might like and be able to cook) :) email me the recipe! I’d love to post it here.
      And besides, I need to try something healthy for a change.

Leave a Reply

