Peanut Brittle…the real thing

Alright, I realize the holidays are over…
however…I kind of lost this recipe and only just found it this morning. {eek}

119

Better late than never, right?
So grab your wooden spatula and let’s get to it.

This recipe comes courtesy of my mom who, hands down, makes the best peanut brittle I have ever eaten.
{That’s saying a lot because I never really liked peanut brittle. At least not until I tried my mom’s.}

I hope you enjoy it just as much as I do.

1 1/2 c. raw shelled peanuts, skins on
1 c. granulated sugar
1/2 c. light corn syrup (Karo’s)
1/8 t. salt
1 t. butter or margarine
1 t. vanilla
1 t. baking soda

Stir together peanuts, sugar, syrup and salt in a 1 1/2 quart glass casserole or microwave safe container.
Cook 4 minutes on high. Stop. Stir well.
Return to oven and microwave on high 4 more minutes. Stop. Stir in butter.
Microwave 2 minutes longer on high.
Stir in vanilla. Add baking soda (have these ready when you take the brittle out of the microwave). Quickly stir until light and foamy. Immediately pour out onto a lightly greased surface (baking sheet, marble slab, glass casserole dish); spread to about 1/4 in. thickness.
When cool, break into pieces.
Store in an airtight container. Makes 1 pound. (Use a wooden spoon!!!!!)
Enjoy.

Note: sometimes newer microwaves tend to overcook the brittle so cut the time by 5-7 seconds on the last cooking cycle.
And this is very important- remember to use a good hot pad because it is extremely hot when pouring.

077

079

081

084

089

091

092

093

099

104

107

107

118

119

You may want to have a treadmill on hand afterwards, just in case.

7 Comments

Filed under holidays, kmslat

7 responses to “Peanut Brittle…the real thing

  1. No thermometers? I’ll be making this!

  2. rhooby

    mmmmmm… me thinks i’ll be walking over to the candy counter to have some pieces….. THANKS, LYN!!!!!!!

  3. katie o.

    not a single one brooke. i’m telling you, all you need is a wooden spoon and a good heat pad and you’re set.
    oh and if you want it to cool faster…put it outside before you break it up. :)

    rhoob, i think you can take the “this stuff is poisonous” sign off now. you should be safe.

  4. rhooby

    i can’t take the poison sign off. we’re having people over new year’s day. i don’t want anyone to die….

  5. katie o.

    you are sneaky lady. sneaky i say.

  6. I can attest to the deliciousness of this. It’s amazing! And relatively easy, apparently. :-)

  7. this is my brother~in~law’s recipe too. While I don’t like peanut brittle either, I do like pecan brittle so he has tweaked it to make me a batch of pecan brittle every year during his holiday brittle making.

Leave a Reply

