Puppy Chow – for humans

Call it what you want, this stuff is a little piece of heaven. Every year when it starts to get cold, I crave this stuff. I blame my high school friend Sarah. She first introduced puppy chow to me in the 11th or 12th grade when she gave it as a Christmas gift. I’ve been hooked ever since…and between you and me, 11th or 12th grade was a long, long, long time ago.

Let’s get down to the good stuff. Here’s what you’ll need:
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter
1, 6oz package of semi sweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup butter
9 cups Crispix

To make:
Measure the cereal out into an incredibly large mixing bowl. Set aside.
Heat chocolate, peanut butter, and butter over low heat, stirring frequently, until melted.
175

177

Remove from heat. Add vanilla, mix well.

Pour chocolate mix over cereal stirring until well coated. (Good luck with this step as it has proven to be the bane of my dessert making existence.)

179

Pour into a large, plastic food storage bag. Add the powdered sugar and shake well until everything is well coated.

Spread on wax paper to cool.
182

Store in an air tight container in the fridge.

And be amazed at how quickly this stuff disappears.

6 Comments

Filed under kmslat

6 responses to “Puppy Chow – for humans

  1. Emi

    Mmmm! Yum yum!
    I can’t wait to make those kinda yummy snack for myself. I’ve been quitting any kind of daily food for jz because he might have milk allergy.
    The quitting time will be done soon, I’ll be crazy to make/eat sweets!

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this stuff. LOVE.

  3. Mmmmmm drool that looks so nice. I wonder though what could be used instead of peanut butter as I have a nut allergy. Golden syrup maybe?

  4. katie o.

    emi, i hope you try this. i think you will really like it.

    sarah- you probably could just leave the peanut butter out altogether and i bet it would work just fine!

  5. I looove these guys! Except I use Chex and call ‘em Muddy Buddies. Can you believe I’m the only one that eats them around here?? Hubby and his family, and my Dad all think they’re too sweet. Hello??? No such thing, guys! :-P

  6. samantha

    hi , yeaah . my friend made this for me today i was HOOOKED .
    it is delicious . i would make it but i don’t have the right ingredients .

Leave a Reply

