turkey and white bean chili

A few months ago my sweet friend Elaine ordered the Food Network Magazine for me. Since then I’ve become obsessed with gathering recipes. Basically, I get a new magazine, cozy up on the couch with my snuggie, and go on a mad search for good eats.
The other day my nightly search lead me to this great, yet incredibly easy recipe for turkey and white bean chili with cornbread dumplings.
And since the weather has taken a turn for the cold, seems like a night of chili just might hit the spot.

I made this meal the other night and honestly, the husband enjoyed this one more than any other chili I’ve ever made. I’m not entirely sure what that says about my cooking abilities… so…we’ll just leave it at that.

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 lb ground turkey…or if you’re feeling it, use your Thanksgiving turkey leftovers
1 16 oz jar chunky salsa
1 15oz can of cannelini beans, rinsed and drained
1 tsp chili powder

Optional:
1 8.5 oz package of corn bread mix
1 egg
1/4 cup shredded cheese blend
onions
chili powder
sour cream

To make:
Brown ground turkey in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Drain.
turkey - white bean chili

Combine turkey, salsa, beans, chili powder, 2/3 cup water.
turkey - white bean chili

Bring to a boil.
Meanwhile, for the dumplings…again, this step is completely optional, mix corn bread mix, egg, and 1/4 cup water in a medium bowl.
turkey - white bean chili

Drop cornbread batter by large spoonfuls onto the boiling turkey chili.
turkey - white bean chili

Cover; reduce heat and simmer for about 10-15 minutes or until you insert a fork into the dumpling and it comes out clean.

Garnish with shredded cheese, onions, and more chili powder.
turkey - white bean chili

Go forth and make this dish, but please be sure to save me some.

2 Comments

Filed under kmslat

2 responses to “turkey and white bean chili

  1. I’m kind of fascinated by the idea of the cornbread on top of this. Killing two birds with one stone. Does the cornbread completely set up or is it still “squishy”? My food texture issues wouldn’t allow me to eat this is if wasn’t cooked through. Looks delish, though!

    -t*

    • katie o.

      I thought the idea was pretty unique too. And I will say that the cornbread was not squishy. In all honesty, it was a little dry to me. I could have done without it and instead just used tortilla chips. But the chili itself was actually very good. I was pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

