Pumpkin Bread

I would like to introduce Sister, aka Jennifer, as a new contributing cook / writer.
She was kind enough to share her pumpkin bread recipe and was clever enough to take photos with her snazzy iPhone. Seriously. I want one.

pumpkin bread ingredients

 

makeshift mortar and pestle

Makeshift mortar and pestle. Couldn’t find ground allspice so I had to make do.

makeshift sieve

Makeshift sieve. Apparently my kitchen is less equipped than I think.

untitled

baking pumpkin bread

pumpkin bread

 

To make Pumpkin Bread:

You’ll need…

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup pumpkin purée
1/2 cup olive oil
2 eggs (beaten)
1/4 cup water
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp allspice
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

 

To make:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Sift flour, salt, sugar and baking soda
Mix the pumpkin, oil, eggs, 1/4 cup water and spices together, then combine with dry ingredients. Don’t mix too thoroughly. Stir in walnuts.
Pour into a well buttered pan (dust with flour, at least that’s what I did) 9x5x3 inch loaf pan. Bake 50-60 mins until a thin skewer poked into the center comes out clean. Turn out of the pan and let cool on rack.

 

Or for a different take, pour into muffin tins, bake 25-30 minutes.  Move to wire rack and let cool.

To step it up a notch, add cream cheese frosting.

7 Comments

Filed under sweet nothings

7 responses to “Pumpkin Bread

  1. I’m sorry. I have strong doubts as to whether this is edible. In fact, so strong that I don’t want to waste my ingredients until I know for sure. You should send me about…hm…ten loaves for testing purposes. I’d ask for less, but I like to be thorough in my testing. ;-)

    • katie

      Uninvoked, I’m with you. I asked sister to bring a loaf my way, but she clearly didn’t find me worthy. I mean I’m only her sister. Who provided her with a blog in which to share her recipe. Sheesh. :)

  2. jennifer

    i’m considering making this bread as a gift… as in, you’re having a holiday party? oh, here’s a loaf of pumpkin bread. or, you had a baby today? oh, here’s a loaf of pumpkin bread. and finally, your doctor can’t explain your sudden tuft of facial hair? oh, here’s a loaf of pumpkin bread.

    this bread has treated me well, but i’m thinking of tweaking the recipe some…maybe nixing the walnuts and sprinkling in a touch more of the seasoning. that should do it. i’ll move on to something else soon enough, and i’m sure i’ll be impressed… i’m less sure if you guys will be impressed… but i know i will be.

  3. @jennifer: I do that with my bourbon balls. Mu-wah-hahaha!
    Oh, you’re having a bad day and hate my guts?
    Have a bourbon ball.
    *all hate dissipates, rainbows appear, puppies frolick… you get the picture*

  4. rhooby

    bring on the pumpkin bread!!

  5. katie

    Rhoob, I told Ash I was going to make this pbread this weekend. He told me I couldn’t. That I must call you immediately for your recipe instead. So, umm, would you mind forwarding me your pumpkin bread recipe?
    Thanks. :)

Leave a Reply

