The blessing & the curse…of having pets.

It goes without saying that I adore my pets.  They are without a doubt the most loving animals in the world and I’m not entirely sure I could ever imagine my life without them.
libby and justice

They are however, slightly destructive. 
184

That? Yeah, that’s the windowsill in our bedroom.  Scratched to the high heavens from the dogs trying to leap out the window at any and all passersby.

 

Shocking, I know.  Two border collies and a cat destructive? It’s incredibly hard to believe. 

Two dogs that tear through the house and one cat that just claws everything in sight.  It’s pretty much a circus around here.  Where the real problem lies is in getting nice things.  We tend to avoid buying nice comforters because the dogs destroy them.  In the time we have lived in this house, I think we have already been through 3 duvet covers.  We finally gave up and just stuck with the down comforter.  It too is ruined, but my husband won’t let me I can’t justify buying something nice when the dogs will inevitably tear it up or just dirty it up. 

What’s a girl to do? Especially when she’d rather have a comforter/quilt that resembles this
img39m

Instead of this
186

4 Comments

Filed under kmslat

4 responses to “The blessing & the curse…of having pets.

  1. Christie

    Hi Katie. First of all, I LOVE the first picture of your two angels. What a great shot! As for their destructive behavior…maybe a visit from Cesar, the Dog Whisperer :) Thank you for brightening my day with your blogs. I can’t wait to get mine up and running. Miss you and hope all is well in Atlanta.
    xoxo

  2. shutterboo

    I totally get this. And I totally blame Chevy. It’s her moving the blinds that ruin the window sill. It’s her nails that rip up my covers and sheets. It was her teeth that shredded a new duvet cover and sham. And it’s her that runs into the wall when tramping down the hallway, leaving nice dirty streak about 2 1/2 feet up. But I love her.

  3. katie

    Oh yeah! I forgot about the black streaks running throughout my house. Before we sell our place, we will have to repaint the everything! But no matter what these punks do, we’ll always love them!

Leave a Reply

