White Trash Wednesdays

Since I’m from Alabama, I think by default I’m supposed to be a little white trash. Although, technically I don’t think I really am. I mean I didn’t have cars parked on cinder blocks in the front yard. My house wasn’t on wheels. You get the idea.

Well, in honor of my Alabama (and Mississippi) roots, I’m creating a new segment here at youarewhatyoueat… titled “White Trash Wednesdays”.

For this inaugural post, I’d like to share with you my friend Lindsey’s (grandfather’s) pimiento cheese recipe.

You’ll need:
1 block of NY sharp cheddar cheese (about 8 ounces)
1 jar diced pimientos
Half a jar of Hellman’s mayo (maybe a little less. you want it to be really creamy)
about 2 tsp of course ground black pepper (or if you’re not totally into ground pepper, pepper it up to taste)

1. hand grate cheese on the small side of the grater…not the smallest side, but the second smallest
2. add pimientos and mash them into grated cheese
3. add pepper
4. add mayo….start out slow and add more to desired consistency
5. mix until extra creamy

Put on sliced white bread or saltines and enjoy this white trash goodness!

6 Comments

Filed under kmslat

6 responses to “White Trash Wednesdays

  1. Mommy is it true you grew up in a trailer park with couches and old cars in the front yard?

  2. Kelly

    Pop’s pimento cheese is awesome! I also enjoyed my Kaite-inspired spaghetti and meatballs dinner last night with banana pudding for dessert! Yum!

  3. Mary T.

    Love the recipe and post. And I’m going to be looking for to White trash wednesdays!

  4. rhooby

    jeez, i wish rustice wouldn’t betray your roots like he does. no telling what other secrets he’ll spill….

  5. katie

    i know! can you believe my ro-ro is “trash” talking me like that? that hurts rustice….

    T- if you have any white trash recipes, send ‘em my way!

  6. Lindsey

    Actually step #1 is “make sure your mullet is pulled back and your wife beater is clean. then you may begin cooking.”

Leave a Reply

